Jindabyne to Bathurst (Kandos)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Jindabyne
April 15th 2013
Published: April 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We left Jindabyne at about 8 in the morning. It was a beautiful day! Partly cloudy, and a nice temperature (probably upper 50s when we left). The scenery here also is without words. Passing by Lake Jindabyne was breathtaking. And unfortunately wasn't able to take many pictures (none while moving) do to some camera case issues that I can hopefully resolve soon...

Again, pictures pending a good net connection!

The first leg of the day was Jindabyne to Cooma, which went pretty quickly. The original plan was to bypass Canberra and take some side roads to the east of Cooma, but this included more dirt. As such, we decided to avoid it. I didn't want a repeat of the other day!

We had a brief pit stop in Queanbeyan outside of Canberra, then headed northeast toward Goulburn where we gassed up. More beautiful scenery to enjoy. Rolling hills accompanied by lush forests and immaculate valleys. Truly amazing!

We hopped on another mountain road north out of Goulburn which took us into Bathurst. Again, the scenery was something to behold! Bathurst is a medium sized city. They have a street race course that is always open, so we decided to take a quick slow lap around the course. It was quite fun! Since we got to Bathurst pretty early in the day, we decided to carry on, so went another 100km or so to the town of Kandos.

Kandos is a tiny little town! I didn't have cell service, but Brian did with his Telstra. Blast you Vodafone! I was walking around looking for service and a couple of small kids came up, and one asked “Who are ya, tourist?” I said I was passing through, and he asked where I was from. When I said California, their eyes just shot wide open and they looked frazzled! It was funny. Then he asked if I had ever been to where The Simpsons are from. Haha!

We stayed at a little hotel called the Railroad Station Hotel just outside of the town. It was nice. No bathrooms in the room, but they were close by across the hall. Apparently it was built in the early 20's. When I was talking to an older lady there about it (maybe the owner's wife?) she mentioned how old it was but recently done up, and the owner had put it on Facebook. And he chimed in “Yeah, I put it on Facebook and all that shit.” It was funny! They let us park the bikes in the garage. Really a nice place. Never stayed in anything like it before. The owner's a funny Aussie. I can barely understand him! But just went down and got a beer and chatted for a few minutes. XXXX Gold Lager. Actually not bad... And only $4! Should put me to sleep nicely!

And I decided to name the girl tonight... Beatrice has been pretty good to me so far!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb