Moving On


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Griffith
June 4th 2014
Published: June 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

DSCF3355_2DSCF3355_2DSCF3355_2

This is literally the only thing worth seeing in Griffith, besides the old Hermit Cave I guess. A plane on a pole. With an ever turning propellor.
It's been loooooong overdue: moving away from Griffith.

Don't like the place, don't like the work, the money hasn't been great (though I just deposited 3 weeks of pay and it's enough to buy me a new car), and the work experience hasn't been all too relevant for my future career.

But I did meet some nice people. Mostly Taiwanese, some Italian, some German, some dutch even.

I'm going to miss the house cat/kitten Ozzy as well.



But fuck yeah, I'm leaving Griffith tonight! I'll see how far I get until I find a suitable free camping spot. Headed for Albury, from where I'll drive to Canberra, Sydney (maybe the Saphire Coast first, but the weather ain't great), and then up up and away to Darwin to see how far I get until I have to dump my car and catch a plane/bus/train instead. Nope, ain't got much of a plan. But I suddenly feel alive again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

DSCF3359_2DSCF3359_2
DSCF3359_2

In case you didn't get the full glory of the plane and the monument to the massive irrigation project around here.
DSCF3361_2DSCF3361_2
DSCF3361_2

I'm going to miss this cat. Some backpacker got it from a ozzy colleague, kept it in her apartment until the fellow backpackers complained about the piss and shit everywhere, every day. So the hostel owner brought it to our house, to stay outside. Poor cat has survived the cold nights so far.
DSCF3364_2DSCF3364_2
DSCF3364_2

Some of the people I'll be missing. Or what's left of them: one by one they're fleeing Griffith as well.
DSCF3365_2DSCF3365_2
DSCF3365_2

Fun fact: when the cat first came to our house, a german guy suggested the cat be named 'Adolf'. When it was found out it was a she, the suggestion turned to 'Eva'. The Taiwanese didn't get that reference I think. Turns out the cat was already called 'Ozzy'.
DSCF3367_2DSCF3367_2
DSCF3367_2

Yup, my blog has come to this: cute cat pictures. I'll stop now.


4th June 2014

Northward bound
Glad to hear you're making some changes! And hope the trip north is successful enough to meet me in Darwin in a scant 2.5 weeks!
5th June 2014

Well, earlier I had only 1 week. I should be ok this time *ahemcough*

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb