An Aussie Farewell


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Cronulla
June 27th 2013
Published: June 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Roo LoveRoo LoveRoo Love

Enjoying the last few weeks in Australia getting to know some of the locals!
After all the time that I have spent here in Australia, the time has finally come for me to move on. The last few weeks have been crazy to say the least, but all in all, I can say that I have had one of the best times of my life here.

My final weeks in the land down under gave me a taste of what life as a dive instructor has in store. Meeting new people and helping them overcome their fears of the water has been a real eye-opening experience. I've grown so much as a person trying to understand others and being compassionate to their needs. Knowing when people need a helping hand, whether or not they ask, has been one of the most valuable things I have gained here. The water has gotten cold and the visibility poor, and it as become more difficult for me to show the beauties of the ocean to others, and inspire them to conserve one of nature's greatest gifts. With all that I have learned at Abyss, through the IDC and the time working for them after, I know that I have obtained life long skills that will benefit me
My Newest PassionMy Newest PassionMy Newest Passion

Teaching others to dive and love the ocean.
in any path I choose.

Not only have I had the ability to fulfill some of my dreams, but I have met some of the best people along the way. We had a great last few weeks going into the city and relishing our remaining days together. Had it not been for some of my newest friends, I don't know if I would have made it, being so far away from home and everyone that I know and love. I have had so many good times and hard laughs that my heart will always have a space for each and every one of you guys in your own little way! I will be forever grateful of my time here, and will remember them forever. It's so fantastic to see all of them go off in their separate ways and do what we have worked so hard at obtaining, a life with the ocean as our office.

It was great to have Nick and Alyssa here, two people from Ohio who reminded me so much of what I left back home. It was so great to have you guys here and I'm so happy (and jealous!) that you got
The HouseThe HouseThe House

Some of the best!
what you wanted and have finally settled in Hawaii. Keep that extra bed open for me! Melissa, wow, what to say. My dive buddy, the one who was with me through it all and we had some of the best times in the water together. It will be hard to find someone who I work so well with again, and who I respect as much as I respect you, both in an out of the water. You helped me through a lot and kept me positive, and gave me hugs, even when I didn't want them. Just remember, I'll always be there to bring you frowers. Carina, my first roomie and partner in crime. It will never be the same rapping to Afroman with another white girl, and yet being so good at it. I feel like we understood each other on a level that no one else did, and when I think of you, I with think of one song and one song only. ASAP Rocky, you know! And Kim, oh Kim. I really missed you this last week and found myself wishing you were here, all the time. I'm so happy for you on Lady Elliot and I
Carnia and MeCarnia and MeCarnia and Me

This picture explains so much....
hope you find everything your looking for. You have such a big heart, so never sell yourself short because you deserve nothing but the best. Kristy, Heron Island would not have been the same without you, and that's one crazy month I'll never forget. To anyone, and everyone I met in Australia, you have made this year one of the best of my life, and I can't thank you enough.

And of course, everyone at the shop. I have grown to love you all so much, you became a family to me and helped me out when I needed it most. Sam, Mel, Blake, Rach, Carl, Jamie, Brett, Peter, and anyone else I have forgotten, you all helped me in your own way to help me become the best instructor I could, and I will never be able to express my gratitude towards you all.

So now that it's all said and done, I think that coming to Australia was one of the best decisions I have ever made in my life. I'm following my dreams and soon, I will be doing what I love. And I can't deny that being a dive instructor doesn't provide the best office in the whole world. I can't say I hate going to the beach everyday and getting paid for it. I'm so excited that my journey is going to continue, and with the great time that I spent here in Australia, the only way to go is up!

Look out world, I'm coming......


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Me and MelissaMe and Melissa
Me and Melissa

The best dive buddy ever!
Nick and AlyssaNick and Alyssa
Nick and Alyssa

My Ohio loves.
Kim and MelissaKim and Melissa
Kim and Melissa

Two of my favorites!
Melissa's Birthday!Melissa's Birthday!
Melissa's Birthday!

Celebrating OZ style.


27th June 2013

What a great entry! I was on the verge of tears......Such wonderful friendships and a lifetime of memories. Cherish every one!
27th June 2013

What a great entry! I was on the verge of tears......Such wonderful friendships and a lifetime of memories. Cherish every one!
27th June 2013

God bless you!!!
I'M SO HAPPY FOR YOU .!! Your blog was wonderful!! It sound's like you accomplished all you planned, also grew in many ways. God bless you on your next faze of your trip. Can't wait to see you when you get home!!!! Grandma

Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb