Packing...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Cronulla
November 22nd 2006
Published: November 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

If anyone has read "A walk in the woods" by travel author Bill Bryson, you will identify... He had never trekked before so headed off to his local camping shop to purchase some items. Starting from scratch he managed to spend over US$1,000 on various items - most of which he didn't use as the story progressed. When it came to pay, his credit card was rejected as it was seen as "an unusual spending pattern". Needless to say I didn't have to spend quite that much but I still had a giggle to myself as my credit card (that hasn't been used for quite a while in Australia) was processed. I may not have everything I need, but shopping for what I thought I needed was very satisfying! Not quite as satisfying as sipping Argentinian merlot but still pretty good :-)
Packing it into my backpack along with Christmas presents and clothes for the Australian summer was another thing altogether. Thank goodness for a few internal Australian flights with friends and family to share the load - at least for the moment. Leaving Sydney in January is going to be interesting!
It is well into the 30's today. Looking forward to flying south to Tasmania to relative cool...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb