33 degrees! I'm not in London anymore...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Cronulla
November 21st 2006
Published: November 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

After the so-called "cold snap" last week, things have definitely hotted up here. By the way, I think Sydney-sighters define "cold snap" as less than 20 degrees in summer. Whatever the temperature last week, it's 33 degrees today and it's been a long time since my feet felt like the pavement was going to burn them through my shoes.
They say the most exciting thing about going on holiday is planning it. While I loved our NZ Sauvignon Blanc and chocolate pudding planning sessions in Earls Court (they seem so long ago?), running out to shop for fleeces, warm socks and boots in tropical temperatures makes the whole preparation thing lose a bit of its excitement. I managed to wear my boots for a bit this afternoon but gave up after an hour - and that was inside. Here's hoping it's not going to be over 30 degrees in Patagonia or New Zealand (I think we're pretty safe in Antarctica somehow...)
It's been a fabulous few days in Sydney. The party on Saturday was great. Eleanor and Lisa's excellent choice in wine and snacks provided sufficient fuel to ensure I did not end up face-planted on the balcony through jet-lag induced tiredness. Instead I was able to party on with the rest of the revellers until, well, okay.. midnight. Still not a bad effort! I had lunch in Darling Harbour yesterday and it was wonderful sitting in the sun eating yummy food and drinking rose. We visited a fabulous gourmet beer bar and drank strawberry and blackberry beer - surely with such a high fruit content they must be healthy?
Tomorrow it's off to Tasmania to check on the alpacas and the grape vines. Oh, and Mum and Dad and friends of course :-)

Advertisement



21st November 2006

those planning sessions
We're still having them here! Only change is we have moved on to Argentinian Merlot... Oh and I think we can safely rule out 30 degrees in Patagonia! Enjoy Tas, looking forward to catching up in SA.

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb