Continuous NorthEasterlies


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Crescent Head
February 10th 2009
Published: February 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Days 1=>10
Woy Woy, Frazier Beach, Newcastle, Port Stevens, Seal Rocks, Forester, Crowdy Head (2 days), Camden Heads, Port MacQuarie, Crescent Heads

Yes, I'm still here, but there seem to be fewer internet cafes in towns where I stop.

This will just be a quick update, as I've got to get some sleep for a longish paddle tomorrow.

Day 1 to Frazier Beach I made good time (about 39 miles) without benefit of wind or currents, and felt good at the end of the day - so I got the mis-impression that things would go smoothly for a while.
To Newcastle was easy (only about 20 miles), but there is a 20 mile bight following it, and with the predominant NEerlys, I decided to quit there - good move.
Every day since then (except for one) the NEerlys have been bogging me down. They typically start at 10:30AM and strenghthen in the afternoon - so my method of attack is to start EARLY and stop by 11 or so. However - these winds have been blowing day and night.
I've also encountered the Eastern Australian current, early. In calm conditions - it will send me backwards at 1 to 2 miles/hour.
With this weather pattern that has been around for a while - the ocean has become quite cold (compared to the previous trips I've taken here).
It makes for chilly mornings (breaking out through surf - cold water spray).
Quite a contrast with what is happening inland (extremely hot conditions).

No 'big' events so far. My biggest 'scare' was a decision I made to cut inside an island (the land drys at low) while approaching Port Stevens.
The NEerlys had been blowing all day, and I was getting quite tired. I was hoping that the island would block most of the swells from hitting the narrow gap. On approach, things didn't look too bad.
However, getting close, I could see that I was in for quite the surf breakout.
The 2 sides (of the gap) met with a few inches of water to spare. I used the swells washing in on both sides to get through - but then I had to deal with a monster surf. I was lucky I was able to avoid the worst of them (3 sets to get through, but the 3rd set was quite infrequent to be easily avoided).
The only other 'incendent' of note I can think of is the paddle into Crowdy Head. I think it's about 25 or 30 miles from Forester. On a previous trip, I was pushed up to Crowdy on a strong South wind. I was so 'gripped' at the end, I stayed in Crowdy an extra 2 days (one to recover, the 2nd was a wind day).
This time, there was a stong NEerly. So the trip was quite safe - but QUITE slow. It took me 15 hours to go from Forester to Crowdy (under 2mph most of the time - the first few hours was doing about 4). I don't mind the hours so much, - but I had to keep going (no rest) or I would lose more 'real estate' at rest then the same time paddling.
So I declared a rest day at Crowdy.

These past few days I have intentionally picked short paddling days (20 miles or less) due to the NE winds and the current. I think things should improve once I'm past Coffs Harbor (current wise - the NE winds will be with me for a while - I'm guessing)

Hopefully next stop I'll have more time to put out some updates.



Advertisement



11th February 2009

Good to hear from you
Sorry to hear that you have had to deal with some unfavorable weather conditions, but it’s good to hear that you are doing fine. We just returned from our kayak camping trip on Florida Bay, was a great time (little windy), wish you could have been there. Take care and I look forward to reading your next update.
11th February 2009

Hey Andy
Hey Andy, Great to hear (read) about your adventures in the land down under. Nice pictures - looking forward to reading about your trip, John sent out an e-mail with your link - hope you get lots of mail to read when you get back on dry land. Take care and travel safe - tip a pint (or 2) for me. Tom N

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb