Surfing


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Crescent Head
June 22nd 2008
Published: July 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Fourteen of us from the AustraLearn group booked a weekend surfing trip to Crescent Head, Australia. It was one of the most incredible weekends I've ever had! We left Friday early afternoon for the six hour drive North. Saturday morning, when we woke up at 7:30, a few other girls and I went to the beach and saw whales just off the coast. Saturday, we had two surfing lessons and Sunday one more. I was able to get up multiple times, but it made me realize that I need to get in shape and start strengthening my arms. I became exhausted fairly quickly. The first lesson was perfect for learning. Although, there were riptides and strong currents, the instructors explained everything and it made me feel a lot more comfortable. The second lesson on Saturday the waves were a little more intense butt we went out anyway and discovered dolphins enjoying the waves right next to us! Sunday, the waves were much worse, so I decided to enjoy the sun and go on a beautiful hike. And during the evenings, we enjoyed campfires on the beach. On our drive back to Sydney, we were graced by the presence of a beautiful rainbow. At first it seemed like your typical rainbow, but as we got closer it ended up being so close! One end of the rainbow started on the road straight ahead of us and the other was following us right along the tree line of the road. It was INCREDIBLE! I couldn't believe how it was following us, I could see the colors reflecting off of the tree trunks a couple feet away! I recieved this comforting feeling of everything will be okay and turns out there was a rainbow at Anne's and Nikki's wedding too. I couldn't have planned a better weekend. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The GangThe Gang
The Gang

About 14 of us from the same program did this weekend trip!
Our Private BeachOur Private Beach
Our Private Beach

well, hardly anyone was there since it was about 65 degrees...
SunriseSunrise
Sunrise

we actually missed it since the clouds were covering the sun, but it was still amazingly peaceful!


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb