Newrybar Part 2 aka The Hell Hole


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
February 16th 2015
Published: February 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

19th January-So today we decided to chuck the gross mats out onto the veranda to air as they probably haven't been hoovered for about a year and then cleaned for a little bit before going out to pick up the rest of the horse poop. I did Duke's feet today to give Malou's back a break and she helped me...she doesn't have that much patience with me and I felt really stupid when she showed me how to make a horse pick up it's foot for you instead of you picking it up yourself. But I want to learn so I'll persevere. When Sam arrived this afternoon I don't think he could get away with not saying thank you as we got ALL the poo....I can tell he still finds it really hard to be nice though...I also find it really hard to be false when I want to break someone's head. He asked us to bathe Cardy's legs because he has scabs on them but he gave us human shampoo for it when he's actually got mud fever and it needs proper treatment....dick! We also lunged Duke in the arena earlier today...well Malou did and I watched. She also showed me a few things she's learned in Australia to do with natural horsemanship....she showed me how to lead him around properly and how he shouldn't overtake me or keep his head up and he did it perfectly! 😊 😊 He followed me around the arena and back to his paddock beautifully....I was so chuffed! I really don't want to leave him here because I just don't think he's going to get the care he needs and deserves. Ofcourse I had to tell Sam when he was here just how cute Duke was with me and how brilliant Malou is at teaching haha! We found some old bikes in the shed so decided to cycle into Newrybar itself as we're actually on the outskirts of it near a place called Brooklet. There was one of those weird herbal shops with all the organic foods and hand creams. They also had a really smelly cheese room...yuk! I introduced Malou to a curly wirly and a crunchie bar at the local shop and we had them with the new Bundaberg soft drink I've found (real lemonade)....Gareth the Aussie guy from my Ayers Rock trip told me about it. She drove me crazy in the shop though because everything's just 'so expensive' because she's on a tight budget....so I was like 'oh ffs I'll buy you the bloody chocolate!' and then we both laughed and chilled with our goodies out on the little table they had. I was on the shittiest bike and was too scared to go really fast as the brakes seemed a bit dodgy....just like everything here. You've gotta tweak everything just a little bit as nothing is fully functioning. I made my guacamole for us which was ofcourse a success 😊 and we had a Mexican night. We ended the night by watching another movie but I fell asleep again.....this farm life is wearing me out! It is nice just to relax and not worry about hair or make up and just enjoy life....well as much as you can when you're working for the devil! I even wear my hair on top of my head lol!

20th January-This morning Sam phoned Malou flapping because he'd seen on his weather app that a storm was coming and wanted us to put rugs on all the horses. Aurelie showed us which rugs to put on which horses and off we went. Malou got quite frustrated with them because they're so shit and don't fit properly....she also got frustrated with me because I didn't know how to put them on properly. But when I ride at home the horses have their own rug each so it's fitted to them already so there's no need for me to be changing the straps or anything. It just made me realise how much more I have to learn 😞 I'll get there though. For lunch we had our nachos and cheese which we were meant to eat last night but we were too full from our tacos....they went nice with a bit if home made guac too! :p Aurelie pissed me off a bit today because she told me I hadn't been putting enough clothes in the machine when I'm doing the washing so that meant I was wasting water....but if you put too much in you'll throw the machine out of balance (I learned this on my last farm). So I did as she said and rammed it all in and what do you know....it went out of balance and I had to do it again. We spent the afternoon dusting and hoovering the living room and kitchen/dining area which took an age! I've never seen so much animal hair in all my life....I feel like my throats clogged up and poor Malou is allergic to cat hair. The hoover is a twenty year old Dyson that sounds like it's going to blow up at any moment :/ Aurelie keeps wandering around leaving hints for us instead of actually telling us about things we're expected to do. One thing she does is leave the dishwasher open as if to say 'uh hello this needs emptying'...god that annoys me! She's also quite nice to me and then not so nice to Malou...like she bosses her around a bit. Maybe it's because I'm a bit unapproachable with things like that....I have been cleaning for like half my life and spent ten months living with my sister....yes sis you are a cleaning freak! :p I think Aurelie is nice enough but I just don't trust her yet. Sam told us to take the rugs off the horses as soon as it stopped raining but that's just pointless because it's going to rain all day....he's just afraid he'll have to do it later. When they arrived this afternoon we were just getting in the car to go to Byron, as it's finally been unclamped for us, and Sam had that face on him so I made him aware the house was now sparkling and that we were going out....we're not bloody slaves! He asked us to clean some tack when we get chance so at least we'll have something in the stables to do. When we got to Byron it was a nightmare to park the car as it just doesn't move that well and has a massive nose. When we finally found a space I could fit into we went for a little explore of the shops. I found a gift shop that sells things made in Australia which are a little more expensive but I don't wanna buy something that's been made in China but 'designed' in Australia. We then had dinner at a Thai restaurant where I tried to find my favourite Vietnamese dish lol! I got quite close! We finished the night off by watching The Imitation Game at the cinema as it was cheap Tuesday....bloody brilliant film!

21st of January-So this morning we got up and did the horses and then had breakfast. We actually forgot to walk the dogs oopsie! But they're so lazy and small I don't think they mind too much. Aurelie was having a day off and so offered to give me a lesson bareback on Johnny but I just didn't want her too....I quite like her now but I just can't communicate properly with her and she has like zero patience. Malou has a sore wisdom tooth bless her but still offered to do it for me so I kind of had to let Aurelie down gently :/ Malou rode Romy first though who's a very feisty little thing and she was an amazing rider as I had already imagined....even Aurelie was watching her with envy and asked her to give her a little lesson before she leaves. But I think too much has been said and done now for Malou to give up her spare time for Aurelie and I don't blame her. Afterwards Malou gave me my lesson for forty minutes and I rode with nothing except a rope halter and rope. I was really nervous as I'm so used to riding with my hands and not my legs, which is a really bad habit, but Malou was so patient with me and could tell even before I could that I'd started to tense up and just got me to breathe. She told me at the end that my sitting position was perfect because I'd now relaxed 😊 I was able to stop him, make him go, make him walk backwards and turn sharply around corners just with my legs and a little pressure on the reins. She even said I'd managed to teach him something new because Sam is too harsh with him. He really is a beautiful horse when you're on him bareback....it's like he knows he has to look after you. I tensed up walking up the hill and he started to trot so I just relaxed and he went back to a walk....it's such simple stuff and if you can find the right person to teach you you'll be fine...I wish I could pack her up in a box and bring her back to Wales! I've decided when I go home I'm going to try and find someone that can teach me like she does and just start from the very beginning again, or I'm just not going to get anywhere. I had the biggest lunch ever today to use up the rest of the bolognaise left over from our Mexican night...poor Malou is in so much pain she can't really eat. I think she's got an infection but she swears blind that it's just her wisdom tooth coming through. We went to a Ballina this afternoon to pick up some food shopping as Candy left us with hardly any food. I've never had to think so much about the price of food before...we're just worried she won't give us the money back she's so tight! I mean she left us with twenty dollars for ten days...really?! We also picked up a new rice cooker for fourteen bucks that is actually better than her old one anyway! We met Aurelie's boyfriend Gunter too who came in and introduced himself to us and shook our hands....very good first impression. I was still stuffed in the evening so just had fruit and yoghurt for dinner. We watched Erin Brockovich too which is one of my fave movies and I fell asleep before the end! I couldn't believe it but just dragged myself off the sofa and into bed without giving myself chance to wake up properly as I needed a good nights sleep or this place is going to send me crazy.

22nd January-I told Malou to stay in bed this morning because she just didn't look well last night bless her...she's in so much pain. So off I went to do the horses all on my own....I fed them, did their sun cream, moved them to where they would have shade and tidied up a bit....then it pissed down with rain and I flapped a little bit because they didn't have rugs on but it was quite warm and they all had shelter of some sort. When I went back in I think Malou was pleased that I'd left her in bed...she saw how drenched I was and was like 'quick, get inside'. So today I set myself the task of cleaning Candy's bedroom as I just can't take it any longer! I need my space to be clean. The dust wasn't too bad but she had so much stuff to dust around, a big spider ran out and made me squeal and then I looked under her bed at all the cat hair and just thought no way, absolutely not! So all was clean and tidy apart from the filth under the bed...I draw the line at that. So Malou then came in with her phone asking if I can phone the dentist for her for an appointment and I say yes straight away as the left side of her face looks like a hamster's pouch. So off we go along with Aurelie because I didn't want to drive in torrential rain....so she drops us off at the dentist and goes off to the gym. So we go in, Malou fills out the forms and then gets carted off so the dentist can see what's going on....she was gone for ages so I did a bit of blog writing. When she eventually returned she looked like she'd been in the boxing ring bless her....they actually took her good wisdom tooth out because it was pushing on the bad one at the bottom which was where the infection was. She just seemed totally out of it on the way home so when we got back we just told her to put her feet up and rest. I feel like I over talk her at times (probably most of the time) because I keep forgetting she has to process it all in her head. It's because her English is so good! But today I could just see she wasn't taking anything in so just kept saying the word rest lol. I spent a little while cleaning the saddles this afternoon which I've never done before believe it or not and then took the dogs for a little afternoon walk before settling down with a movie before bed. Do you know what? When Sam came over he wanted to know where Malou was so I told him what had happened and he didn't even ask if she was okay or go and check on her...prick! He even walked straight past her in the house and just ignored her.

23rd January-Happy Birthday to Dean, Ken, Jody and Sarah! Lots of Birthdays today 😊 So today was a very lazy day....I went out and did the horses on my own again but then I had a bit of a bad belly so kind of spent the day lolling about and we did a couple of things around the house. We did nip to Bangalow this afternoon, which is close by, to check their PO box for my new bank cards that Auntie V has sent me. We're leaving on Monday so I was lucky they'd arrived....phew! We also had little nose around the shops.....it's a gorgeous little set up....like a proper little country town. Malou found a cute little hat that she really wants....she's really into her fashion. She's going to try and convince her grandfather to buy it for her as a late Christmas present hehe! Sam came over I went out and asked if we could have a day off and he said they would do the horses in the morning so we could have a lie in....about bloody time! I downloaded The Horse Whisperer onto my iPad and we finished the night off with that 😊 Brilliant film!

24th January-So I tried to have a lie in this morning but it's as if my body clock is set to wake up for the horses...which also meant that I knew Sam and Brendon didn't turn up to feed them until half past eight which is just far too late! Those poor things would have been cold and hungry because they'd left them out there in torrential rain all night with no shelter and no rug 😞 Malou was fuming! I had a little chill on the sofa with the dogs before Malou woke up and then she made us a boiled egg for breakfast bless her....she's a very good chef. She then received a text from Sam telling us to clean the bridles today and I thought you cheeky bugger! So I grabbed my phone as he has an iPhone and text him telling him that they would be done tomorrow as today was our day off....I mean we work for eleven days straight....more than the four hours expected of us by Candy, then we have to ask for a day off and he has the cheek to turn up late, bugger off and then text us....coward! We decided to go back to Bangalow to have lunch and a little shop around. I got my eyebrows threaded as they were in desperate need and oh my days it hurt! :o Malou got her little hat so we were both happy bunnies 😊 I gave the lady a tip because she was so good and really lovely. She didn't want to take it but I made her as she'd saved my life by squeezing me in. The parking is super easy in Bangalow as there are a heap of spaces down this little side street...bonus! When we got home we fell asleep for hours in the living room which was amazing! We also sent the dreaded text to Candy telling her that we'd found a new farm and that I was taking Malou with me haha! Karma is a bitch! In the evening I cooked my chicken breasts wrapped in bacon and filled with philly cheese for everyone 😊 Gunter made the mash and the four of us sat outside with the tree lights on having our dinner and wine. Poor Malou had to eat it in baby pieces....more mash than chicken and she looked like a little mouse nibbling away 😞 Ps thanks for the idea sis! After a few glasses of wine had gone down we all let rip about the family and how messed up all the dynamics are....I probably went the furthest with it and revealed I wasn't looking forward to Candy coming home since we were both leaving together.....was a good bitching sesh 😊

25th of January-So it was back to work today for the final time and Malou was super grumpy this morning...my god she reminds me of me when I was her age....which is why I let her off hehe! I have to keep reminding myself that she is only twenty even though she's got an old soul. Plus I think I irritate her because I talk too much. But she doesn't tell me to ssshh, which I think I'd rather, she just stops listening instead. It's hard work having a Welshie and a Dane together 24/7. We had photos with Cardy in the front garden this morning as there's a swing and it just looks so cute. I've always dreamed of having a horse in my garden that just comes up to you whilst you're on the swing on a huge tree....like you see in the movies. We've given Duke a rest from having his feet done the last few days because they're just getting worse the more we get them wet....but we had a look and they're still not looking good 😞 Plus Sam is going to try to ride him again today....dickhead! I made sure I gave him lots of treats before putting him back in the paddock as its our last proper day here today 😞 Don't get me wrong I can't wait to leave this place but I am really going to miss him. I would have loved to ride him. I took the doggies on their final walk down to the lake sniff sniff! They're so good now....Coco even listens to me a little bit. There's a huge mud bank down there so I climbed all the way to the top of it to look out over the lake and then let them off so they could run down it 😊 Of course they got home after me but I couldn't care less today. We had a heap of stuff to do in the house before she was due home....and we weren't sure what time this would be. Malou moved her stuff down to Sam's room outside so we could be together and away from them all as it was bound to be awkward. Anyway we were trying to finish off all the little jobs when they arrived home earlier than we expected and we shit our pants....I mean normally you'd go out and be like 'hey did you have a nice time?' but it was so hard! I made sure I held up a good conversation with Anna as she's a nice kid....just babied and made precious by her mother that's all. The first thing she said when we walked in was 'oh it looks very clean' as if a certain someone had been telling her we'd been lazy. She then discovered the car was dead and flew off the handle at Malou automatically assuming it was our fault. Malou can't even drive so that was a bit unfair....she should've been asking me about it. Now I've been driving for almost ten years so know a thing or two. I could've told her the battery was on its way out and while I was at it told her it chuggs like you wouldn't believe and her tracking is waay out! I can also jump start a car but of course I would just show her and her precious son up if I did that....bloody snob!

So once we'd finished off our little jobs we nipped to the pool for one last dip and sunbathe. Anna and her friends came over and were giggling at us relaxing on our picnic rug....I thought wait 'til you're in your twenties hunny and have tan lines that bug the crap out of you! Anyway when we got back to the house I went inside to ask Candy if she needed help with anything and got cornered about my facebook posts saying I wasn't enjoying the farm....she actually said to me 'well I'm sorry to hear from facebook that you haven't enjoyed your stay here' and then walked out of the room. So naturally I knew Aurelie had told her as we're friends on facebook....but she wouldn't have done it maliciously....Candy would've manipulated her into it. I wasn't going to mention the blazing row we had with her son as I didn't want to embarrass her but after that comment I couldn't resist. So I began and Malou then came in and helped me finish the job. She was obviously absolutely mortified but then began to just make excuses for him...not good enough! She told Malou that she was disappointed in her for also choosing to leave with me which was bang out of order! We basically summed it up by telling her it was her son's fault, so of course now she's going to be 'f**ked' as she put it because it's the end of the summer holidays and Anna will be going back to school, have dance lessons left, right and centre and she also now has the horses to do every morning....well hard luck! When Sam arrived this afternoon I assume she gave him an earful because he just didn't come near us or make a comment about us being back in his boudoir! We still thought it was disgusting how she didn't make him apologise to us though. She had actually asked us earlier in the day if we wouldn't mind doing the horses one last time tomorrow morning which I thought was a right cheek! But after what she'd discovered she made Sam agree to come and do them. We were out getting our washing from the line and checking we hadn't left any of our stuff anywhere when I jumped in the car for a sec to get a photo behind the wheel as I was super proud of being able to drive it, when I saw Sam out of the corner of my eye stop and give me a stinking look....so I just snapped and whipped my head around and said 'I'm just getting a photo don't worry!' and he pooped his pants, said okay and hurried inside....no balls. Dinner this evening was just cringeworthy....we had tacos etc with everyone! That's Candy, the three girls, me, Malou, Aurelie and Gunter. Poor Aurelie is always expected to join family dinners. The girls spent the majority of the time messing around and ended up having a chubby chubby bunny competition with grapes....at the dinner table! Then we had a Birthday cake for one of them as her parents were on holiday for her Birthday...I mean how grim is that? I think my face said it all....I just can't contain it now. We helped clear up, showered and then called it a night. I painted my nails properly for the first time in weeks before I went to bed and actually felt half human Xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.101s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb