Byron Bay Kayaking


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
April 30th 2013
Published: April 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Whilst in Byron Bay decided to do some Kayaking, I have done some before and did actually have my own Korean kayak at one time so thought I would give it a whirl. Thankfully the sea was calm and the surf not too high, perfect conditions the guys said who took us out. There were about forty of us I guess and I was paired up with a lady from Brisbane who was on a few days holiday with two friends. We got through what little surf there was and out into the open sea without capsizing. We were out on the water for about three hours in total but unfortunately we did not see one dolphin or one sea turtle, so somewhat disappointing. Shelagh who was staying at the same place as me had seen both on her trip out!!! Not fair!! Although the guys gave us good instructions on how to manoeuvre the kayak it amazed me the number of people who just careered into you hadn't got a clue what they were doing. When we got right out to sea it was quite choppy and one or two of the ladies were getting a bit scared but I didn't think it was too bad. As we headed back to the beach after our tea break the surf had got up and as we ploughed through the waves the kayak was slapping down as we reached the top of the waves. Good job I put my specs safely in my pocket until we got past the surf. It was a really nice trip just a bit disappointing we didn't see any dolphins or turtles. Sorry no pics as didn't want to get my camera wet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb