East Coast trip...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
May 30th 2011
Published: May 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The East Coast... Or a tiny part of it anyways... I decided that a trip was in order
before I started looking for work, so I booked up a ticket with Greyhound, a Fraser Island
trip and a flight back to Sydney and set of on Sunday 8th for an overnight journey up to
Byron Bay.

The hostel in Bryon was pretty quiet, so when I arrived I took myself off on a little walk
up to the lighthouse, through a little bit of rainforest, and then back along the beaches
and bays where I had some lunch on a deserted beach. The walk was pretty good despite a little bit of rain, but unnervingly I found a pipe in the rainforest that made me wonder if
I wasn't about to trip over a hatch and find myself in a Lost-esque moment where, clearly
due to my haircut, I could only be John Locke which wouldn't work out quite so well for my long term well-being. The first night was spent in the bar and dorm room with Michael the Italian and the other girls who were staying there, playing cards with my 007 pack, a great aid to conversation although inevitably it leads to women thinking about Daniel Craig and losing focus on the all important game of blackjack, rummi, shithead or cheat. (Sorry about the shithead one, mum!) The next day in Byron was spent sea kayaking (turns out falling in the sea is a wee bit cold), then "enjoying" watching others karaoke it up in the bar before chatting with two brothers (the sibling kind, not like Chris Rock and Eddie
Murphy) and going out to Cheeky Monkeys for drinks and dancing.

Next up was Southport, a couple of km north of Surfer's Paradise, where I managed to get
lost on the way to the backpackers due to crap bus drivers, but thankfully got picked up by
the hostel owner. I had a lazy day, followed by a bar crawl that night with the people in
a few different hostels and ended up staying for a few more days than planned. Surfers was good, in that it had a nice beach, but otherwise it's a bit of a bland place. But the guys
in the hostel were quite fun, I had my first laundry experience, went to Currumbin Wildlife
Sanctuary and saw a birds of prey show, and drank beer and read. Happy days 😊

From Southport I went to Noosa, which I shall write about next time along with Fraser
Island...


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 81; dbt: 0.1027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb