Just an Update


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Blue Mountains
April 30th 2008
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Another apology to begin with! I see that I forgot to publish my first post!! Sorry all!

Just a quick update, as I only have about 20 minutes, and I'm realllly tired and have to get up at 4:45 am tomorrow morning! Ahh!

I'm not exactly where I left off, so I'll just inform you that I spent the last two nights in the Blue Mountains, which are just a couple hours west of Sydney. We stayed at this AMAZING ecolodge, which was amazing for so many reasons.
A. It was located in the middle of the Blue Mountains!!
B. It was eco-friendly!
C. It was full of non-bunk beds
D. It had a TV
E. It served amazing meals for us
F. and most of all... it had Coffee whenever you wanted/needed it!!
And the staff there were super friendly and wonderful too- it was a great place to stay and 'relax'

At least that's what Kevin (The Prof.) told us when we were driving out there. The first day we just walked to an outlook, and then spent the afternoon in the lodge by the fire because it SNOWED. Record lows in the last 60 years! Go ahead, blame the kids from Wisconsin!!
Amazingly we met a teacher who knew Wendy Gorman in Arizona... SMALL WORLD!!! (she's another Prof at Northland)

I did go on a night hike that night though (thanks Brit for the headlamp..) and it was amazing.. we went to see the stars.. which of course were in an amazing amount! And then!! I saw a shooting star!! It was so bright it lit up the whole sky, but it was absolutely amazing!! (Yes I forgot to wish on it, but If I had, I wouldn't have told you what it was anyhow...)

So the next day we head out on this 'hike'. It was crazy. We dove down into the canyon (hopefully check out pics) and there was amazing vegetation- a rainforest!! but unfortunately, we had to climb back up...

and after that, stupid me decides to go on ANOTHER hike.. so nevertheless I was a tired panda when I got back!

Ok I only have 15 minutes left, so it's gonna get short real fast.

We're back in sydney for the afternoon, so I went to the two art museums here which took about 7 hours, so I'm a bit art-ed out.

We leave for the outback tomorrow morning at 8:30, so we have to be at the airport at 6:30, leave at 5:30 and get up at 4:45 am. So I'm really gonna be tired tomorrow (it's 11:30 here already...)

So yeah, I won't be online for a week or so! Feel free to email me- I look forward to hearing from you all.

Much love to you all!! Talk to you again in a week!

W00t! Outback here I come!

-Kayla


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb