We are on the road again (shrek eat your heart out, ha ha)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Bellingen
December 28th 2013
Published: December 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well we have left Mike's daughter and family after 3 weeks staying with them. I think they need an award or do I mean we need one as we laid a block patio, build a gazebo and also laid a lawn of fake grass and whilst doing this looking after a fabulous 20 month old little girl (or Mike's granddaughter to put it correctly) called Sophia.

So we make a 7 hour ride down past Coff's Harbour where you might remember a few weeks previously there was a young lad who died from a shark attack so I think we might keep away from here. To be honest though driving through Coff's Harbour on the Pacific Highway all I can say is a bit of a posh Blackpool. If you like Blackpool then visit if you do not then keep away.

So we get to Bellingen where we are staying in another place through Airbnb and it is a fabulous little place which looks like it should have been a garage to the main house but they have converted it into a great little apartment. The owner called Rae is a very talented stained glass window designer and there are some of her works in the apartment. I only wish I had an artistic talent it would help me to decide what I am going to do with myself when we return to Blighty.

So we get up at a wonderful time of 10am which I can tell you is wonderful as a 20 month year old little princess (or you could say sometimes a little diva) got us up around 5.30 - 6 am every morning, ha ha

Anyway we decide that as I purchased a Jamie Oliver BBQ for $30 which was half price in Springfield Lakes Big W and please note they do not sell them in the UK (that was my USP (unique selling point) to get Mike to buy into my ridiculous idea of purchasing a BBQ when we have so many internal flights and no room in our luggage) that it might be a good idea to send it back via slow boat to the UK. So I put into google where is the nearest post office that is open - well you guessed it 45 km back from where we came yesterday - this cheap BBQ is starting to be quite expensive. Then we talk to the postie gentleman who is so laid back and talkative I find out his mothers brother was a colonel in the British Army and his sons live somewhere near Manchester. So Bruce gives us the bad news that to send it slow mail is $64 so now I have the most expensive Jamie Oliver BBQ in the whole of Australia - lets hope it arrives back home and the container ship does not sink!

So after another 45kms back to where we are staying we take a trip around Bellingen. How would I describe Bellingen it is laid back and if I say everything is organic and no one wears shoes they all walk bear foot I think you can get the picture - but don't knock it everyone is so chilled!

We decide to take a trip to one of the swimming holes which is supposed to be very native around here and guess where it is situated on the Never Never River how cool is that name. So we get to The Glennifer School of Arts at the crossroads and park up and guess what the swimming hole is dry well it is summer so we could not even cool down there. Anyway let me tell you about the School of Arts it is situated no where near any life at all - do you think Nicole Kidman went here, ha ha

Anyway tomorrow we are back on the Pacific Highway for another 7 hours to get to Sydney where we are staying near the airport for one night to drop the car off and then moving into downtown Sydney for a few nights including NYE woo hoo so excited. The Pacific Highway sounds really great that you are next to the sea all the way well let me tell you it is not near the sea and they are doing so much work on it I feel it should be renamed the Pacific road works.

Hope everyone is ok as it is over 30 degrees here and I am sweltering!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 15; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb