Things to Do in Bateau Bay On Your Weekend Getaways


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Bateau Bay
May 6th 2016
Published: May 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post



Bateau Bay in New South Wales is one of my favourite getaways from Sydney. When I'm feeling over-stressed with work and life in the city, I simply visit NSW. It’s like pushing a “Reset” button for my heart, body and soul.

I go home feeling relaxed and able to conquer the world – seriously. Each day spent in NSW brings a sense of freedom and a serene feeling that lasts several days into my next week. Even a short weekend visit is to my benefit and I take advantage of it as much as I can.

Easy Travel for a Weekend Getaway

There’s no better way to spend an hour and a half - driving to the coast. I sing with the radio and laugh in anticipation. It’s a beautiful drive, too, through many naturalized areas.

Great Places to Stay

I have stayed in the Bateau Bay Hotel and the charming Breeze Bed and Breakfast. When the whole family goes, we stay in the “cabins” at the Blue Lagoon Resort. Most little towns in the bay area have motels, and The Entrance has eight good choices. Times are simple in Bateau Bay, so don’t expect a high-rise.

Eat ‘um Up

The food? Wow - good stuff. There are so many nice places to eat, to feed my ever-growing tummy. The local fare at Thyme After Thyme is fantastic. Find some Italian influence at Pordella. Get ready for the best seafood you’ve ever tasted in the restaurants along the bay and beachfront. Lunches at Shelly Beach Golf Club are a treat. Of course, there are the typical chain restaurants, too.

Surf’s Up

I found many things to do in Bateau Bay and I go to both extremes. First I learned to snorkel, then I learned to surf on the rock beaches of Byron Bay, Shelley Beach and New Castle. These are some of the best surfing beaches on the planet, but also offer smaller waves for beginners like me. Professional teachers show you how.

Take your Walking Shoes

When I finally pull myself off the beach and exercise, I power-walk along the trails and rock paths in Bateau Bay. The dramatic cliffs in the adjacent Wyrrabalong National Park offer jaw-dropping beauty. Some routes have families of forest animals scampering with you. I love the LillyPilly Loop! (I also like to walk to Bateau Square for the boutiques and shops – I count that as exercise!)

Relax Beautifully

Despite all the possibilities of things to do, I usually relax on the bay and people-watch from my beach chair. I watch for whales during their migration, and I’ve spotted quite a few. It’s such a peaceful place in a world all its own.

This is the Life

I pack light and travel easy. No phone, no computer, no pens or pencils. All I need is an ocean breeze and beautiful scenery to clear my mind. In Bateau Bay, you can run free, hang out with Mother Nature, and enjoy both the bay and the beach for all they have to offer.

What a great weekend! A quick car ride took me miles away from stress. The living is easy in Bateau Bay. Join me next weekend and we’ll have a blast! The only bad part is having to leave.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb