Alley Flash fiction


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Bateau Bay
October 30th 2007
Published: October 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So here is the blog of my writing... continuing from the other blog of my writing... hope you get it

As soon as I entered the shadowy, narrow alley, I heard his footsteps. They were distinct. Their sound overpowered the light drip-drip of droplets crashing from second floor fire escape into murky puddles. It could be heard even among the domestically abused screams coming from an open window in the third floor of an adjacent building. I sped up ever so slightly, keeping my vision focused on the light emanating from the alley's end and my mind on the thought of my apartment steps. Do I look back? Ok, but be quick. My eyeballs jerked my head back over my shoulder and I saw him. He was a behemoth. He was hidden under black baggy sweats with a Yankees fitted slung low over his hidden eyes like a mask. The rest of his dark face revealed nothing. His shoulders nearly touched each wall. Fuck. I increased my pace, but as soon as I did so, I heard his footfalls become more rapid. My heart banged in its cage, trying to blast its way out of my chest. Fifty yards remained. I glanced back again. The giant raised his head as if acknowledging my fear, tapping into it, unnerving me with his eyeless glare. In the blur of my head's return forward I saw him explode into a sprint and at the same time pull out a sleek black object from his pocket. I burst suddenly forward towards the light, all questions now erased by sheer terror, flight having ousted fight. "Stop," he bellowed while running. I pounded towards the sidewalk, impervious to his calls. He was closing the distance. Safety loomed. I could hear his labored breathing. I saw sprinkles of light reflecting off a parked cab mere yards away. I yelled at the top of my voice and….. I tripped.

Within seconds he was over me, his dark clothes hanging vertically from his stooping frame. He thrust his right arm, hand grasping the black object, towards my face. I cowered against the base of the damp wall, whimpering, soaked from the grimy rainwater I fell in. "Please! Please! You can have my money! You can have my credit card!" I pleaded from the depths of my being.

"I don't want your damn money," he sneered. "I want your respect. I don't want you to run away from me just 'cuz of how I look. And more than anything, I want you to be thankful I fucking beat my ass up to give you this."

He stepped past me, turned, and threw my still full wallet on the ground. Then he disappeared around the corner, into the night, and deep into my memory.

Advertisement



30th October 2007

Need to change my pants
I wet myself in fear. Nice writing. Could you write something sweet and charming now so that I can fall asleep tonight?

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb