STUDY abroad!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Armidale
March 2nd 2011
Published: March 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

At Petersons WineryAt Petersons WineryAt Petersons Winery

Heather at the first winery we stopped at.
Hello all you YANKS! (This is what my good AUSSIE friend Kirsty calls me...I think it is so funny!)

As you all might known, this is a STUDY abroad experience. Here goes the STUDY part about my trip... Classes started on the 21st of February. I am taking 4 classes: Colonial Australian History, Theatre and Performing, Philosophy, and Orientation to Coaching (an exercise class! also so I can understand what Joe is doing with his life goals. There is your shout out, Joe!!) There are very different set ups of the classes than in the US. For example, for each class there are lectures and tutorials. For my theatre class I even have a "workshop" class. The lectures are typical classes in the U.S. but this is WITHOUT questions and not much interaction between the student and professor. They would like you to save your questions for the tutorials. My tutorials range between 6-16 student per class. Since it is smaller, the professor can explain topics to your specific needs. I REALLY like this system. I am very shy to ask questions in front of a large group, but when I'm in my tutorial I feel much more comfortable speaking up!

For the most part, classes are going really well. There is much more reading and papers assigned at UNE than at Lock Haven. I am most nervous about Philosophy and History but I think in the long run I'll be alright!

This past weekend, our good friend Preet, took us to some of the local wineries! It was a blast! The weather was perfect and the area was so pretty. The wineries were only about 20 minutes away from Uni so the drive wasn't bad at all. It was fun to taste test some locally grown wine and enjoy the day with friends!

Since Chelsea, Heather, and I, AND MOST PEOPLE AT UNE, don't have any Friday classes, our friends Tom and Piers are taking us to the beach this weekend!!! Tom lives in Port Macquarie which is a very touristy beach town. The drive will take about 4 hours but I'm SOO excited!! Maybe this will be my chance to learn how to surf! We also might be able to meet up with Kirsty this weekend. She is heading home for her Mum's birthday! (HAPPY BIRTHDAY MUM!!) She lives about 40 minutes away from where
Petersons WineryPetersons WineryPetersons Winery

Heather, Chelsea, and I!
we will be staying! It would be heaps of fun if we could get together with her!


I hope everyone has a great weekend!!
Thanks for reading (AND WRITING COMMENTS..hint hint)
Love,
Rebekah


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Ducks!Ducks!
Ducks!

In the vineyard at Mihi Creek Winery!
Horsey friend!Horsey friend!
Horsey friend!

At Mihi Creek Winery
Mihi CreekMihi Creek
Mihi Creek

The view was so beautiful!
Yummy!Yummy!
Yummy!

I picked the grapes myself!


3rd March 2011

Shout-Out!
Holllllaaa!!! I got my first shout-out! I hope you have fun at the beach, don't take in too many rays and wear your sunscreen!
7th March 2011

Beautiful
Everything is beautiful, the country side, the animals and the people! Enjoy the beach weather down under! We had a cold blast last night with gusty winds and snow flurries! Looks and sounds like you are having fun and studying too (it makes your mom happy). Thanks for the update and pictures. Matt will be glad to see the cute koala pic.
9th March 2011

Pofile Pic
You should make the one of you under the tree pointing up at the koala!!! It's a good picture :)
16th March 2011

NEW BLOG!!
WE WANT A NEW BLOG POST! Please :)

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb