Twist and Go


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Christmas Island
August 29th 2010
Published: August 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Twist and GoTwist and GoTwist and Go

My 100CC Twist and Go Scooter

Well I type this sitting on my balcony at 6.30 am on Sunday morning with a cup of Coffee.

Ten minutes ago I sent my first text to Caroline, wishing her a good morning, its 09.30 Canberra time so I new she would be up at at’em this morning, she told me that she was off to the Fyshwick Markets this morning, with Bec and Sarah.

Caroline got her new bike yesterday, A Giant Trail Glide, she said and she is delighted with it, I think It will be included in her separate blog, in the next day or so.

My existence on the island is a strange one, Monday to Friday is flat out with work, I get the 5.35 Island bus to work and am usually at my desk at around 6.05 all things being equal, but weekends are somewhat different.

I managed to secure a vehicle in the week and being a team player had a car full of guys to take to work, it only lasted 2 days as the car was needed for operational duties so I had to give it back, I was a bit pissed off as I new
Swimming PoolSwimming PoolSwimming Pool

At the recreation Centre
that on the week end I would only have limited access to the bus or walking.

Because of this the novelty of being on what some may consider a paradise Island is wearing thinner than it was, it would defiantly be better if I could get out and about, exploring.

I am considering hiring a moped for my time on the Island from hopefully tomorrow.

I need to get fitter so decided to join the gym, so last week I went up there after work and paid my dues, then a day later the car was taken back so thought to myself shit, how am I going to be able to get from Poon Saan up to Phosphate Hill, so my only option was to catch the bus.

Ah the buses, the service only goes once a day to the recreational centre, so I have to be diligent with the times.

After work, I may just get the chance to get a half hour swim in before they close at 8.00pm, then a walk home, light snack then bed.

Yesterday I caught the .12.20 from Poon Saan to the recreation centre, it was good
Chess on the VerandaChess on the VerandaChess on the Veranda

Nilangra and Shane playing chess on the balconey
as It gave me time to just stare out of the window and look around, we went in to the area of Drumsite, a small town ship with some nice houses, it seems these houses are Island house that have been here a fair while as they are established.

Housing on the Island is a major problem, there is just not enough, as the two main economies on the Island is Phosphate mining and the refugee centre, given that both political parties are committed to using other countries processing facilities, and as Peter Garratt has rejected any new mining leases on the island, this will toll the death knell for the islands economy.

From my balcony 20 Meters away are some refurbished chalets that are not finished yet, if the builders got the fingers out and they were ready a bit sharpish then there would be probably another 300 available bedrooms on the island.

I’m pretty sure Peter Garratt thinks that enough people will come over as Tourists to see the wildlife and the Red crab migration, but I don’t think that would be enough to sustain the island.

Anyway, I got the bus yesterday up
The Lucky HoThe Lucky HoThe Lucky Ho

Or The Skanky Ho as we call it
to the rec, the weather has been absolutely fantastic, here, I go off the bus and walked in to the recreation centre, told them my membership number then went and got my swimmers on.

The pool was beautiful, I am just sorry that Caroline is not here to enjoy the pool as well, she does love to swim.

I had my swim ,it was really good, I had the whole pool to myself, shade cloths get the sun off you both ends, but it was really bright swimming in the middle and I would have looked crazy swimming in my sun glasses.

I set my self a short term goal, so many lengths to get back in to it, I did a couple of lengths then had a break, then a few more an so on, I managed to complete my target in just half an hour, and by the time I was changed it was only just after 1.00pm and would have to wait for the bus to pick me up at 2.30pm.

The last time I swam was January I think that was the last time we were at the Canberra Motor village and as I type this I am mind full of the time as I need to shower then walk up and get the bus again.

The bus did not return until 2.30pm so I thought Sod that !!, I will walk its only about 4 K’s back and its down hill all the way, I may get to see something of interest on the way back if I was lucky, may be a Big old Robber Crab or something.

I bought a bottle of water, from the Kiosk, the sun was baking outside and probably around 30 Degree’s, I couldn’t afford to dehydrate on my walk back.

With Hat on and water in hand I strode off back towards Poon Saan.

31 Minutes later I was back, sweating like a don’t know what, but all the same I was back.

I sat and had a cold drink, then decided the most appropriate action was a nap, on my bed.

2 Hours later I awoke, wow what a deep sleep I had, had and such a crazy dream, Caroline was driving a Red and White, Cab over Kenworth and I was shouting at her to stop
Chinese FlagsChinese FlagsChinese Flags

To mark the Route for the "Hungry Ghost"
it, so Bizarre.

Before going to the recreation centre I had done all my washing and got it ready for Ironing before I was back in to work on Monday, so I knew I had time to finalize my lazy afternoon. In fact the only reason I awoke from my Nana nap was because Caroline had sent me a text.

Another of my new resolutions is to stop eating out so much, when you are so late home from work, the last thing I want to do is cook, so usually we all grab a takeaway as its easy.

I have mentioned in my last Christmas Island blog that all you can get on the Island is Chinese Food, and if you don’t like that you are stuffed.

I adjusted to this the easy way, I use the work Canteen Monday to Friday and have a decent lunch time meal, then would have a takeaway a night, which I have now decided I will only use one a week or twice at the most.

I‘ve got to tell you about the Chinese restaurant that is about 45 Seconds from my room.

Its called the
CinemaCinemaCinema

The open air Cinema
Lucky Ho, it did tickle me when I first saw the name, we all refer to it quietly now as the Skanky Ho.

There is a Chinese guy who works for us who’s family own the Lucky Ho, I’m sure Jackie may have heard the renaming of his Family’s restaurant through the grape vine, thankfully not from me.

Last week, well Last Sunday to be exact, the Skanky Ho was Closed and their was a Hungi burning out side the Restaurant and also loads of people outside.
There were also Lots and Lots of little flags all over the place.

I didn’t think to much of it until I read an article in the “Islander” about the celebration about the “Hungry Ghost”

(From Wikipedia)

This celebration his when Chinese People believe that On the fifteenth day the realms of Heaven and Hell and the realm of the living are open and both Taoists and Buddhists would perform rituals to transmute and absolve the sufferings of the deceased. Intrinsic to the Ghost Month is ancestor worship, where traditionally the filial piety of descendants extends to their ancestors even after their deaths.
Activities during the month would
CinemaCinemaCinema

The open air Cinema
include preparing ritualistic food offerings, burning incense, and burning joss paper, a papier-mache form of material items such as clothes, gold and other fine goods for the visiting spirits of the ancestors. Elaborate meals (often vegetarian meals) would be served with empty seats for each of the deceased in the family treating the deceased as if they are still living.

Ancestor worship is what distinguishes Qingming Festival from Ghost Festival because the latter includes paying respects to all deceased, including the same and younger generations, while the former only includes older generations. Other festivities may include, buying and releasing miniature paper boats and lanterns on water, which signifies giving directions to the lost ghosts and spirits of the ancestors.



I asked Jackie if this was the reason why The Lucky Ho was closed and he said it was, I said that I had seen the flags and wondered after their celebration would it be appropriate to collect a couple of the flags as souvenirs.

Jackie that in his religion it would not, but as I was not the same religion as he, it would be OK for me to take them.

Last Tuesday morning I was walking up for the 05.35 Bus and selected a couple of flags in decent condition, gently pulled them out of the ground and Rolled them up and put the in my bag.

I thought, great a couple of simple memento’s from my unique time on Christmas island, that we can keep.

Well I had such a shit day at work on Tuesday, I was talking to Jackie the following day and I asked him, if by taking the flags the sprits would be annoyed, why do you ask Jackie said, well Jackie I had such a bad day yesterday I wondered if the sprits didn’t realized I was a different religion, or was it a case of mistaken Identity on their behalf, he nearly fell of his chair laughing, he thought it was so funny.

Oh one last thing, every Saturday night is cinema night, at the little open air cinema, you pay $5.00 five bucks and sat on our beach towels on the grass.

The film was beneath Hill 60 an Australian film about a regiment of miners in the first world war, and its well worth a watch, apparently it was filmed
Number PlateNumber PlateNumber Plate

My Christmas Island Registration Plate
in Townville, which us up midway of the east coast of Queensland.

I walked down to the bus stop this morning and was about 15 Minutes before the bus was due to arrive, I waited in the shade and looked at my watch 11.40, Mmm I thought the bus should be here by now, just as I was having that thought a 4x4 pulled up and dropped its passenger window.

A voice called out “are you waiting for the bus” if you are hope in.

I hoped in, Hi I’m Oliver the driver said, the Bus is having some needed maintenance today so I am going around the route picking everybody up, fantastic I said.

Oliver said that he was the recreation centre Manager and was doing this for the community, that was so cool.

I told Oliver that I was off for a swim at the rec centre and he said he was happy to take me there, we needed to go down to the settlement first, so I thought great I will just enjoy the ride.

As we got down the 3 Kilometer hill to the roundabout I notice that the scooter
Recreation CentreRecreation CentreRecreation Centre

Where I have my swim.
place was open.

Hey Oliver would you mind dropping me off here to see what the scooter place is all about, sure he said, I tell you what I am going to get myself a coffee and I will be back in 10 minutes.

Well I went in and was greeted by a New Zealand lady, who asked if she could be of any assistance.

I asked if she was Teresa and she said she was, I want to Hire a scooter, sure thing she said $160 bucks a week, so we went through the details and I was soon fitting a suitably sized helmet.

Oliver arrived back and I went over to thank him for his help and said he was happy to help, then he said, I have got you and Iced tea.

Oh thank you I said, as he presented me a bag of Ice tea, not in a cup but in a bag with a straw in and tied with a tie around the neck, how thought full.

Well I was off up the hill on a 100 cc Automatic scooter, I was defiantly not the king of cool on this machine, but still on the positive side I had my freedom back and have every opportunity now to explore this island.

I arrived at the rec centre and had my swim, I managed to do more than I did yesterday which I was pleased about.

On my new steed I went off to explore and ended up at Lilly Beach and Ethel Beach, as Christmas Is Volcanic there is a distinct lake of beaches, but Lilly and Ethel are both easily accessible and sandy are just fantastic.

My little scooter took me lots of places that I had not been to before and even in a 4x4 you would see as much as I did, the only thing that made me nervous was all the loose phosphate on the road, it wasn’t like having a decent set of off road tyres underneath me.

I had an excellent day and I hope you enjoy the pictures.

Well that’s it from Christmas Island, for this blog and hoped you enjoy it.

Andy









Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

OceanOcean
Ocean

Over Looking the Indian Ocean
Cabana'sCabana's
Cabana's

At Lily Beach
Board WalkBoard Walk
Board Walk

To the Ocean
Crab FencesCrab Fences
Crab Fences

Getting the Crab fences ready for the forth coming Migration


31st August 2010

Love the Scoot ....
I enjoy two wheel transportation. Just becareful and remember to wear "all the gear all the time" (ATGATT).
4th September 2010

Long time no speak
Andy - Hope you are well, only just managed to catch up on your Blog. Two years ago you would not have imagined you would be living on a Pacific Island even only for a short period of time. I hope you can enjoy the time there, it beats West Bromwich... Time will fly by and you will soon be back with Caroline another experience under your belt. Hopefully we can speak soon and maybe meet up if you have any plans to return to the UK. Wishing both you and Caroline all the best. John and Hilary...

Tot: 0.73s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 23; qc: 197; dbt: 0.5491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb