Yet Another Attempted Rip Off


Advertisement
Published: February 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

DAY 461 & 462

11th & 12th February 2010
.

I was out of bed at 5.50, as I needed a wee, I was pleased to hear the Kookaburra’s morning laugh, it seems like I have not heard them in a while. I don’t know why he was laughing as it is pretty early but nice to hear him all the same.

It was early but I did not feel like going back to bed, so I made a cup of tea, made the sandwiches, washed up and surfed the net all before Caroline surfaced at 7.00, if I had my way I would have easily dropped Caroline off at the office at 7.00 if she had got up earlier, but somehow she wasn’t keen.

One of our blogs, Little India, day 3 has just passed 1000 hits, which we think is quite impressive, we remember it vividly when we were in Singapore and are suprised justt how popular that blog has been

Although I did want to drop Caroline in slightly earlier as the truck is in for a service today, so I wanted to get it in as close to 8.00 as possible, after the morning routine I dropped Caroline off just before 8.00 and went straight to the Nissan dealership in Belconnen.

I had already agreed the price for the truck to be serviced, I have learnt the hard way, when I go into service reception to get it all sorted out, we have a couple of warranty things that need looking at but nothing serious.

Anyway the bloke then said $679 Australian green one’s, when I tell him Matt had quoted me $380 he said I had better speak to Matt. “Well Matt, please explain to me in simple words how you quoted me $380 and now you want $679 I am all ears.”
After heaps of the usual Bull Sh**ting and back peddling, he said the it couldn’t of been him and there had to be some mistake. Mistake my ****, I reminded him of a couple of conversations we had had when I booked it in which seemed to jog his memory, and then almost as if he just remembered he said “OK $380.00”.

This to me is red rag to a bull, how dare they do this? This is just ripping people off, If some elderly lady or gentleman had this happen to them they would possibly not argue and just pay the money. I let him know, in a simple sentence what I thought of their practices.

Once I was dropped off, there was one thing on my mind, a swim, if I can get my swim in now then I will be set up for the day, so into the cold pool I went and 30 lengths later I am out to then get on with some chores before having lunch.

Eventually in the afternoon I had a phone call to say that the truck was ready for collection so they sent someone out to pick me up and before I knew it, I was standing in service reception being presented with the bill, which was the exact amount that I was expecting in the first place.

I had a few more chores to do, but time ticked on so I collected Caroline from the office and we headed straight back to camp. As she was not feeling well yesterday she missed out on a swim, but wanted to get back into it today, despite knowing that the water would be cold, so kitted out off we went and as usual I was in first very closely followed by Caroline who is definitely not so slow as she used to be getting into cold water.

Well we both did 30 lengths but I made Caroline do another 2 for luck. The pool is quite busy tonight, but people seem to get in do a few lengths and then get out quite quickly, I wonder if the cold water is putting them off?

I knocked up our evening meal, we had a nice piece of Kangaroo, with salad and pasta, the rest of the evening was just reading and pottering about.

The evening was really hot and humid, we could see in the distance lightning in the clouds so guessed there was wet stuff on the way, it looked a bit eerie really a bit like when the aliens came to earth to take people in the film Close Encounters of the Third Kind. The rain had not come by the time we went to bed at 10.00, it was a very warm night and seemingly going to be quite uncomfortable.

During the night it absolutely hurled it down, the rain was bouncing on the canvas it was so hard, but at least we stayed nice and warm.
The following morning was very wet, after taking Caroline to work, I had a list of things to do as long as my arm, I had to post a very special parcel to our friends in the UK, Gary and Karen and some other bits and pieces that Caroline needed me to mail for her.

After dodging the rain, washing some clothes and the truck I happened to have a phone call from Customer Services at the Nissan Dealer where I took the truck. The very nice lady asked me if I had had a good experience yesterday and I said “No” then went on to explain what I thought.

In fact this lady listened to me for 18 minutes and 9 seconds to be exact, me telling them how they ought to be ashamed of them selves blah, blah, blah and if the MD wants to call me, please tell him he can do so as I would so like to speak to him.

Well the lady said I had been very helpful and was glad that I hadn’t raised my voice but understood exactly what I had said and was going to pass the message and the feedback to the MD, so we will wait and see.

On collecting Caroline she said she had experienced that Friday feeling and had enjoyed her day, she said the work was definitely ramping up, slowly but ramping up all the same so her days are getting busier and getting busier means she is happier.

We get back to the Wendy House, it started to rain again, Caroline didn’t fancy a swim tonight so we had a cup of tea and a sit down and caught up on our day.

The rest of the evening was catching up on some important phone calls that we had to make, then both exceptionally tired we headed off to bed, we need to be up fairly early in the morning as we are off to Queanbeyan for another part of our adventure.

Until next time

KangarooJack


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb