Road tripping


Advertisement
North America
November 29th 2007
Published: November 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Right now as I write it is currently day 4 on our adventure eastward to Biloxi, I am sitting in the middle of the van typing this on my pda as we are driving outside Dallas Texas. Most of my teammates are sleeping others are reading or listening to music... On Monday morning we left Sacramento bright and early and headed south to Needels California. We lucked out and were able to share a cargo van with 3 other teams who are headed to the gulf as well. The only problem was that all not of our luggage fit into the cargo so we had to pack it in our van. Along with the left over cargo, each member has their overnight bag in the van and William stocked up on 2 seats worth of candy for the ride, so things are tight and cozy. On the flipside William is the team leader in charge of driving the cargo van so 2 of our 13 members are in the van folowing behind at all times, giving us a little more room in our van. Monday was probably the longest driving day thus far as it took us almost 12 hours to arrive. We are not supposed to drive for more than 8 hours a day, but we are also supposed to stop every 2 hours to get gas, use the bathroom and switch drivers and that takes a while with 13 people. Tuesday we started heading eastward to New Mexico. We drove thru Arizona and stopped in Winslow Arizona for lunch, just so that we could live the Eagles song and "stand on the corner in Winslow Arizona." Except for that infamous corner on route 66, there wasn’t much to do there these days. We ended Tuesday night in Albuquerque. Because of our long stop for lunch and the fact that we lost an hour, we had another long day and went to bed shortly after we arrived. Wednesday so far has been the best day yet. We drove from Albuquerque to Abilene Texas. We arrived earlier and had time to go out bowling as a team that night. Tonight we will stop in Shreveport Louisiana and tomorrow we will be in Mississippi. I am very glad that I am a driver; that gets me out of the back of the van for 2-4 hours a day. I like driving the cargo van the most because it is a lot quieter and I am not responsible for a many lives. It was challenginng at first not having a rearview window to look out of, but I learned how to use the mirrors and wish my car had nice big mirrors like them. It has been enjoyable driving the route we have been on because I haven't been to any of those states previously. The landscape is obviously much different than the east coast that I am used to. Mountains, canyons, deserts, and farms. The scenery changes in an instant and as we are getting closer to the gulf the temperature is getting warmer, the grass is getting greener and the locals accents are getting thicker.

I must add that as I was finishing this entry, I paused and looked out the window, and saw the most random thing ever which I must share with you; a giant inflatable slide on the side of the road, with a huge Buffalo Bills logo on the side of it, no lie, how odd. I wonder what that means.

Miss you,
Talk soon.
Nicki

Advertisement



1st December 2007

:-)
Well Nicki, it seems that you are enjoying yourself! I can't wait to hear more about it :-) It was so nice to talk to you for a little while the other day!!!!
2nd December 2007

side of the road
Nicki, Well the Bills beat the Redskins today! Its always good to hear from you—Happy Trails. Love. Aunt Nettie
5th December 2007

split apart
So you and Sandra are now split apart. You sure had an awesome few months together experiencing all kinds of things. Thanks for taking care of "my baby". I look forward to comparing her experiences on her spike with your experiences on yours. You sure had a long drive, glad you made it safely. Good luck. See you soon. Love and prayers, Your other Mom

Tot: 0.33s; Tpl: 0.046s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb