The Great BBQ Tour of America 2011


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
July 7th 2011
Published: July 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Here it is...by popular demand...THE BLOG!!! I said I was NOT going to do this but now I am and well I will try to update it as we go along on the wild ride that has come to be known as "THE GREAT BBQ TOUR OF AMERICA 2011." Raul and I got the idea for this trip while we enjoyed watching Man Vs. Food and Diners, Drive-Ins, & Dives (PLUS my own SECRET love for No Reservations with Anthony Bourdain...ssshhh don't tell Raul though.) It also was planned with the fact that Raul has become an avid BBQ/Smoker type of guy. The funny part is that we keep on telling people that we are on 2 separate tours while in the same car...he's on the Foodie Tour and I will be on the Nerdy History Tour. We will also be hitting some historical sights while we are on the road. Raul might be kicked to the curb at the local rib joint while I am busy losing myself in whatever museum or local historical sight I find along the way. So...THE GAME PLAN...with room for venturing from THE PLAN for the next 3 weeks that we will be on the road is to hit the following places.

Albuquerque, NM
Amarillo, TX
Oklahoma City, OK
Little Rock, AK
Memphis, TN
New Orleans, LA
Baton Rouge, LA
Austin and Environs, TX
Havasu, AZ

I will let you know what we saw and what we tasted as we go along. Here's a quote to sum it all up.

"The whole object of travel is not to set foot on foreign land; it is at last to set foot on one's own country as a foreign land." Gilbert K. Chesterton


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Route 66Route 66
Route 66

We will be taking part of Route 66 on our trip across the country. This, though, is about a mile from our house.


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb