Pre-Trip Part II: Vaccinations


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
February 19th 2011
Published: February 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Vaccinations can get expensive but I'm guessing getting yellow fever in another country might be more expensive. In addition, some countries require proof that you have vaccinations for certain things before being allowed in. So the first thing I did was to track down my childhood vaccinations to find out what I have already had. Next I found a travel clinic the specializes in this stuff and I picked Passport Health. Due to the number of different regions I am going, there were a good number of diseases I had to be protected from. Yellow fever is a big one, flu, measles, mumps, Hep A & B, meningitis, rabies, polio, Japanese encephalitis, malaria, and of course travelers diarrhea are some other things we addressed (some I already had vaccines for). In total mine cost roughly $1,000 for nine shots (one in dec, 4 in jan, 4 in feb).

I really like Passport Health because besides being friendly, they printed out an up-to-date booklet for each country I am going to with detailed information on any current warnings or travel alerts, outbreaks, weather, crimes, embassy locations, other safety & security alerts (i.e., the number of unexploded land mines in Cambodia and Laos which kills roughly 300 people a year and where they are) among other things.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb