Final Thoughts


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
August 1st 2010
Published: August 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Normally in the US we think of vacation as a place where we are going to rest, and relax and kick our feet up. This was not that type of vacation. At times it was frustrating and difficult. I had problems with communication, I got sick, spent about 55 hours flying, 500+ miles driving, and everywhere we went was hot which meant I didn't sleep much. Witnessing the immense poverty takes a toll. Over 40% of the worlds poor live in India. Yet at the end of it all I'm reminded that traveling can be a great teacher. Whenever you are removed from your comfort zone and immersed into another culture you can't help but grow as a person.

I've seen many pictures, movies, documentaries, heard personal stories from the Mathen family, traveled to other developing countries but nothing could prepare me for India. Like most things in life it is best understood by experience. There is no place like India. I really benefitted by having an inside pass with the Mathen family, to be able to meet families across the country, stay with them and understand what life is really like was a major benefit.

Finally, the use of titles is very important in India as a sign of respect, especially to your elders. One day we were sightseeing, and we took a break to eat lunch in the car. School had just gotten out and little kids were walking home. I was waving to them as they passed and their eyes would light up. It's not often they see someone my height and even more rare seeing someone my race. Most of them were very happy to see me and would wave back. A few of them called me "Chettan" which means brother. These kids did not know me at all but just expressing their respect and their admiration was heartwarming. Hearing "Chettan" from my new family....it really makes me feel proud. Their acceptance of me from day one made my trip. Also during our flight to Dehli a young man named Vikrant, who was sitting next to me, struck up a conversation with me. We ended up talking for the final 2 hours of the flight, exchanged contact info and now we are part of the great cultural exchange. Of all the places we've been to I have to say the people of India are the ones with the biggest hearts. Despite enduring amazing challenges they really extended that sense of oneness, brotherhood and humanity to me.

Advertisement



3rd August 2010

So Amazing Ryan!!!! The experience of a Lifetime. The blog was great.
7th August 2010

Read Gregory David Roberts/Shantaram, he describes the hearts and minds of the Indian people

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb