134 U.S. Flag Images: Chicago to Seattle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
July 24th 2010
Published: July 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Iowa: Flag Country!


Entry Four: 134 U.S. Flags

The American Flag: Is there any greater method to display one’s patriotism then to display a flag? During 12 hours of driving through Iowa and southern Minnesota, I began to snap as many photographs of the Stars and Stripes as I could catch with the camera, even sometimes turning the truck around for the shot.

Then, I figured that, as long as I was driving so much, why not try to shoot as many flags as I could? It gave me something to do, plus gave me an opportunity to think about who displays the American flag, and, more importantly, why? In my informal opinion, it seems that the flag is displayed a lot by car dealerships, and in small towns, to suggest solidarity. On personal, well-kept homes, the flag might display a loved-one currently serving in the military, possibly overseas.

Living in Chicago, I rarely see the American Flag displayed, save for schools and government buildings. However, once venturing out into the country, with its town squares, high school football stadiums, waving "Hello," and roadside vegetable stands, folks feel the need to place their patriotism on display.

Seeing the variety of flags, and, no doubt, the variety of reasons behind the purchasing/display of a flag. The impossibly unanswerable questions beg further inquiry: Is the displaying of the flag for themselves, or others? What, specifically, does the American Flag represent to him/her? How long have they been displaying the flag? Do they go through the (correct) process of burning the flag when it’s old and weathered? Do they display their flags in the rain and never allow them to touch ground? Will the flags continue to fly high in the future?

Since there are so many opportunities to see/photograph flags, I am extending this entry to include other flag-flyings from around the U.S. If I knew the location, I added it. One thing's for sure: Americans love their flags!


Additional photos below
Photos: 134, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



24th September 2010

Flags in the City
"Living in Chicago, I rarely see the American Flag displayed, save for schools and government buildings." I've never really thought about that, but you're right. I can't even think of any flags downtown. Are there flagpoles on/by the bridge where State street crosses the river? Or is that just the Illinois flag? Or am I imagining those? Yet, even in the suburbs it's different. In the far southwest reaches of the 'burbs where I live, there is the largest flag I've ever seen flying right on the side of the highway by the exit I get off on.

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0827s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb