USA Roadtrip....#2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
July 13th 2009
Published: July 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another Road Trip



I arrived back in Toronto from Thailand around the second week of May and after some necessary paperwork I decided to take a short version of the roadtrip I did last summer.

My camera had been damaged by one of those electromagnetic wands searching for weapons when going
into a bar in Phnom Pehn and I didn't feel like purchasing another so this blog has no photos.

I headed to Niagara Falls, NY which kind of looks like a disaster zone. After a few days there then I headed to Cleveland to see a place that's always been on my mind, The Rock Hall of Fame. To use the current vernacular, "Awesome!".

From there I went down to Washington, DC and spent a few days visiting the sites, concentrating on the Smithsonian Museums and then turned north to Montreal where I spent a some days with a
travelling companion from years ago in India and Central America.

I passed a truly memorable Canada Day in Ottawa with an old university friend and his young family then cruised along the St Lawrence dropping in on other unsuspecting past acquaintances. "Hey, it's me!! Where's your son? Oh, you ARE the son?" My how time flies.

Last year when returning from Asia I was bumped by an airline which overbooked me. They gave me flight coupons so I had arranged a tentative flight to Miami Beach on July 14th. It wasn´t sure whether I would use it or not, but I decided to use the booking when the poor weather in Ontario showed no signs of ending.

See Next Entry.



Advertisement



12th August 2009

John, When did you visit Washington? Did we miss chance to meet? I left Wash May 29 Alex

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb