Before Oz


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
July 16th 2003
Published: July 16th 2003
Edit Blog Post


Not before Oz... Emma and I on my birthday in Sydney
Life is pretty simple for me right now. I intern at a great public relations firm and I work in a -- well, not your typical restaurant... Actually, Don Pablo's is more like a madhouse most of the time, but that’s another story.

I have lived in Orlando for the past four and a half years, longer than I have lived anywhere else, except for Atlanta.

“There is something to be said for routine.” My dad is one of the most sensible, practical people I know. He says this all the time and I agree. There is something to be said for routine... But, then again, I think there is something to be said for the unknown... And that's where I stand.

Three weeks.

Three weeks until my life warps from looking at my planner to see what the agenda is for today to deciding whether to stay longer in Cairns or move on to Darwin. From knowing what I must do this week, how many miles I have to run and what appointment I have, to diving the Great Barrier Reef, learning to surf and working, living, and traveling in one of the most intriguing, desirable travel destinations in the world.

Am I ready?

Well, I have three weeks to get it together, pick up what’s left of me here in Florida and move. I’d say I am pretty familiar with moving. I’ve done it before several times.

But this is different.

I look at it as well, venturing out into the unknown. I have no idea what I am getting into and absolutely no idea of what I will come back to --- that’s the missing piece of the puzzle.

But, I like that “missing” piece. I smile at the excitement, the change, the unknown...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb