Tailwinds Today! How sweet it is?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming
July 15th 2018
Published: July 15th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Mother Nature was good to me today. This is the second time since I left Yorktown that I have had a tailwind.

It was really helping me all day and the ride was effortless!

Although I rode 65 miles, it took me about 41/2 hours. Saddle time is what is important and that’s pretty good!

The timing is perfect because I have two more long days ahead and knocking this one off so easily has really saved my legs and butt!

I enjoyed the wonderful vistas today and even got to see some Pronghorn Antelope! That was fun.

They were actually pretty close to the road as I approached, but as soon as I stopped to get a picture they took off. Part of the joy was watching their grace as they effortlessly put distance between us.

I did manage to use full telephoto on my phone camera to at least get a blurry shot of them.

Somehow, I crossed the Continental Divide twice again today. In both cases the climb was very shallow and I only know I crossed because the signs said I did!

I have no idea which side of
Looking at Split Top from very close.Looking at Split Top from very close.Looking at Split Top from very close.

With a binoculars one can still see the wagon ruts carved by the Oregon Trail.
the Divide I am on at this point!

Part of the fun today was when I turned left on Hwy 287 at Muddy Gap. I was virtually on the Oregon Trail all the way to Jeffry City and will be tomorrow as well.

I took several pictures of Split Rock which was a major navigational landmark used by Native Americans, the Oregon Trail wagon trains and the Pony Express.

The trail passed through this part of Wyoming because of the ample water supply from numerous rivers and streams.

The sign at a viewing point says that travelers could see Split Rock for two days from either direction.

I stopped a couple of times and looked backward and sure enough it was very easy to pick out.

Once I arrived in Jeffrey City (Pop58), I had two choices for shelter; a hostel in a church or a motel that looked terrible from the outside.

I have discovered that I don’t sleep well in a Hostel because people are constantly coming and going and I cannot sleep through that! I commend anybody who can!

I went to the Split Rock Cafe nearby to have lunch and delay the decision for awhile.

As I was eating, Ed a fellow traveler from Brooklyn came in and sat with me. He had just checked in the Green Mountain Motel and told me it was actually pretty nice on the inside.

So I finished my very good Ham and Cheese and rode back to the Green Mountain Inn.

I have to agree with Ed, there is no TV but the room is very clean and has great Internet and Air Conditioning.

I am planning another 60+ ride to Lander tomorrow.

It would be great if the wind cooperated again.

We shall see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Crossed the Continental Divide againCrossed the Continental Divide again
Crossed the Continental Divide again

I have no idea which side of it I am on at this point!
This is Split Top from the East.This is Split Top from the East.
This is Split Top from the East.

Split Top was a landmark used by the Native Americans, early trappers and then the Oregon Trail.
Myself and Jonny from Italy.Myself and Jonny from Italy.
Myself and Jonny from Italy.

Jonny started in Argentina and is on his way to Alaska!


16th July 2018

Tail winds
Played tennis today...1st time in months and actually did fine. The Diverge is all decked out now with brand spanking new Brooks Cabrium saddle and you will love my new bike storage set up...no extender, rather a free hanging bike bag by Ortlieb that handles up to 16ltr of stuff, way more that I will need!! Maybe I can carry some of your stuff? Miss you and will be back with you in a couple weeks. Came up against some hard bodies yesterday on Del Dios and they passed me on the climb, only to succumb to my speeding by them as we approached RSF as I am getting accustomed to the weight and flow of the "adventure" bike. I loved it and was smiling liking a schoolgirl as I checked them out in my rear view mirror......?
16th July 2018

Excellent
I am counting the days until We meet up again. Can’t wait to see your new rig. Until then! Bob
17th July 2018

Tailwinds
I’m putting in extra good words with the Man upstairs Bob. Tailwinds to you ...

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb