Into the Great WIde Open


Advertisement
Published: July 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Grand Prismatic Spring, YellowstoneThe Grand Prismatic Spring, YellowstoneThe Grand Prismatic Spring, Yellowstone

The first time I visited this spring a number of years ago, I found it to be the most peaceful, restful place to rest a weary soul. I must have sat on the boardwal for an two hours or so, enjoying the steam on my face in the cold early morning
Hi Everyone,

Travelblog doesn’t seem to be working all too reliably these days so I thought I would give it a try, so hopefully it will work. We have spent the last couple of days in Wyoming at Yellowstone National Park. This is one of my favorite places that I have ever traveled to. There are so many different types of sights to see from multi colored boiling mud pots, mammoth hot springs, canyons, waterfalls, fumaroles, and my favorite the beautiful springs all over the park. We tried to make it to most of the stops along the way but Yellowstone is so huge that I’m sure we missed some. Of course one of our first stops was to the Grand Prismatic Spring which is my favorite place in the park. It is this giant hot spring with every color of the rainbow in it, it is stunningly beautiful. It feels like one of the most peaceful places I have ever been. It makes me wonder what it must have been like for the first explorer or Native America person to see it without having a nice scientific answer as to why something so beautiful exists.

Everything else at Yellowstone is gorgeous too, it’s almost hard to describe so I will let my pictures speak for themselves. I have so many pictures that it was hard to choose and of course they do no justice to what it actually looks like.

The wildlife has been amazing here too. We have seen so many animals- bison, elk (even some with a full rack), coyotes, pelicans, and of course bear!! Well we saw some bears from a far distance and we even started to get disappointed until the unbelievable happened. We were at our tent site when I decided to leave to do laundry and about 50 feet down the road from our tent when I saw a huge brown black bear wandering around in the woods. I almost died so I slammed on my brakes, whipped out my camera snapped a couple shots (of course I had it right next to me) and flipped a u turn to go save Jen. Jen was still at our site minding her own business eating dinner without a car to run to for safety. So we threw all the food into the car and Jen hoped in so we could go see the bear. We saw the bear from the safety of our car but the bear got spooked and took off running full force back into the woods. So not only did we save the bear’s life but countless other campers- we like to think of ourselves as heroes!!! Thankfully the bear didn’t return or else the park service would have to “destroy” the bear to ensure people’s safety. But needless to say we slept in the car that night. Canyon campground has apparently had a number of bear problems already this summer but this one ended happily unlike some of the other incidents.

We are heading to the Grand Teton National Park next and then it is back to Massachusetts. I have had a wonderful trip, it has been more fun than I could ever have imagined. We have been so fortunate to see so many beautiful and amazing sites across the country and in Canada but I am looking forward to coming home. I am looking forward to a warm meal cooked on a real stove and a warm bed that doesn’t need to be packed up in the morning. Most importantly I am excited to see my family and friends. This very well may be my last post of this trip so don’t forget to send me love because I will be checking it whenever I get a connection. But thanks for readings and sending some comments for the past 2 months. I hope all is well at home and I will see you guys probably by the end of the week.

Love Laura



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

The edge of the SpringThe edge of the Spring
The edge of the Spring

Looking down into the spring, it feels like you can see and feel the power at the center of the earth
The bear at our CampgroundThe bear at our Campground
The bear at our Campground

Quite a big bear to be 50 feet away from your tent


Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb