March Madness in Jackson Wyoming


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming » Jackson Hole
March 19th 2022
Published: March 21st 2022
Edit Blog Post

March Madness in Jackson Wy

by Duchess DJ Love Gallivanting Like a Royal

The mountain is calling… so off to Jackson Hole Wyoming for some, snowy good, fun this weekend. For a gal who doesn’t ski, this adventure will surely be interesting to say the least. However, I’m game, bring it! As always, my blogs include some love. Like attracts Like.

Things of Interest: Jackson Playhouse, National Elk Refuge Sleigh Ride, Continental Divide Dog Sled Adventures, Teton Village, Snow King Mountain: King Tubes, Cowboy Coaster and Scenic Gondola

NOTE: The collage photos are for consolidation purposes in this blog, but in my eBook, Exploring the Greater Yellowstone and Grand Tetons, all photos are presented individually along with the collage.



Day 1: Friday March19, 2021 - Ft. Worth to Jackson Wy

I’m so excited about my trip today that I woke before the alarm. Yay, I’m ready. I take my window seat, snooze for most of the flight, when the announcement comes, “attendants prepare for landing” I stare out the window at the beauty beneath. Those snow-covered mountains and plains, awe. Immediately off the plane, snap several photos of the Tetons and wake up from the chill of the outside breeze. TIP: There’s a photo op with an antler arch welcoming you to Jackson, so be prepared to take a quick picture. Our shuttle to Snow King Mountain Resort is waiting to take us to the hotel. It’s a plus to stay there with an airport and around town free shuttle, so no rental car necessary. Besides, who wants to drive when you can ride and see the sights? Checking into the room didn’t take long and my room is delightful. My balcony overlooks the pool and ski area. This is definitely a ski in/out resort. Late lunch is at the hotel restaurant, Hayden’s Post, surpassing my expectations. Healthy, delicious choices. My spinach salmon salad makes my mouth water just recalling it. Now it’s time to venture outside. Strolling to the lifts, snow coaster as I call it, tubing area and reserving time slots to play tomorrow. Can’t wait. Back in the room, I enjoy the view from the balcony and think how lucky I am to be here and enjoying this moment in time. Dinner is at the Gun & Barrel where I sample the Mixed Game Grill, A combination of elk steak, bison prime rib, and a venison bratwurst. The décor is worth some browsing time as you will see full mount game trophies, historical artifacts, antique cowboy photographs and a mural on the west wall outside is a re-creation of Bierstadt’s Buffalo Hunt. The temperature has dropped down into the 20s. So grateful that the hotel shuttle is waiting to drive me back to the room. What an amazing first day in Jackson.

TIP: Once hotel reservations are booked, contact the hotel shuttle service for free airport pickup. This should be done at least 72 hours in advance. They will need the name room is reserved in, # in party, Airline info: date, flight, and arrival time.



Day 2: Saturday - Fun in Jackson

After another delightful meal at Hayden’s, today’s activities start with a sleigh ride in the National Elk Refuge. Once again, the hotel shuttle provides free transportation to the Jackson Hole & Greater Yellowstone Visitor Center, where our one-hour horse drawn sleigh ride through the prairie lands begins. What an incredible tour! There must be several hundred Elk roaming around. Our guide shares history and facts about the herd. It’s chilly out but our guide provided warm blankets.

Back at the resort, the Snow King Mountain fun is ready for us. First, we take the winter scenic gondola ride up the mountain for photo ops, then to the King Tubes for snow tubing. On my, that was a workout. Thanks for the magic carpet to get us to the top of the hill. Now to catch my breath with the Cowboy Coaster. With a mile of loops, curves and hairpin turns as you descend the equivalent of a 45-story building, this is a thrilling ride. There are two cameras to take your photo which you can retrieve in the gift shop. I had to ride several times to get a Duchess approved picture. So much fun!!

Dinner is at the Jackson Playhouse and this evening’s production is the “Love Shack”. How appropriate for the Duchess DJ Love. 😊 We have a front row table. The performers are our waiters, but we didn’t know that until the show began. The Playhouse, Jackson's oldest building, is an original town site, built in 1915 as a livery stable. Wow, what a great venue and we laughed, cheered the singers on, and dined on a very tasty meal.

TIP: Reserve your tickets in advance as seating is limited.



Day 3: Sunday -- Bridger – Teton National Forest and Teton Village

Awaking from a deep sleep with the alarm beeping, I make my way to the balcony to check the weather as Dog Sledding is first thing today, so I need to make sure I’m layered up appropriately. Whew opening the balcony door, receiving a cool, crisp chill wakes me immediately. It’s snowing! Yay, fresh powder to play in. No time for breakfast, so dart out for transportation to Togwotee Mountain Lodge. Fortunately for me, I brought some protein bars from home. The drive to lodge is scenic with snow flurries blanketing the view in places. The dogs are going to be so happy. Upon arrival, we find out that we are the only ones on the morning sled tour. I do feel royal now, upgraded to private dog sled. I am allowed to pick my dogs to pull the sled, pet them and get to know their personalities. Some will be retiring this season. Cricket is my favorite and chosen as the lead dog. Henry is our musher and off on over an hour of sledding through the Bridger – Teton National Forest. The ride begins with heavy snow and the return is crystal clear with blue skies. Before our drive back to the hotel, lunch is provided. Basil tomato soup in a bread bowl with the kids’ grilled cheese and fries. Yummy and I’m so hungry!

Once back at Snow King Mountain Resort, we change clothes, freshen up and take the city bus to Teton Village. We check the schedule and there’s a bit of wait, so we browse the shops: jewelry, clothing, souvenirs, art galleries, etc. We find some interesting items. We take the direct bus to Teton Village so it’s a short ride. I spent the week here last September, so I know the village rather well. We trek off to the ski area and watch the downhillers make their way to us. I spot an opening in the crowd and rush to snag a photo op. As I’m instructing my friend on how I want my picture, this guy recognizes my voice and slides into my photo op. Rather creative to get my attention but hey, it worked! Wonder if I’ll see or hear from him again. Wait a minute, is this the guy who helped me out in Seward Alaska? He did state, I bet you need some bubbles. More on this in my, Duchess DJ’s Magical Encounters, eBook.

There’s a restaurant that we really wanted to sample but there’s a long waiting list. TIP: Book restaurant reservations way in advance. I’m like waitlist #58 for this evening. Friday and Saturday my wait number was over 100 and I didn’t make the call back either night, so I’m hoping tonight I get lucky. Teton Village is buzzing with energy and folks are eating, drinking and definitely being merry. We decided to try out a local brewery beer. The lines are long but what else can you do. Oh, I can phone the restaurant and see what my chances of dining there this evening is. So, I do. A man answers in a friendly tone, so I inquire about scoring a reservation tonight. He replies, unfortunately we are completely booked. I plead can you please check my name just to double check. He replies, certainly. After a pause, he states you know what if you are here at 8:30 sharp then I’ll
Mystery Man Crashes My Photo opMystery Man Crashes My Photo opMystery Man Crashes My Photo op

This man heard my voice and recognized me instantly and skied right into my photo. Clever way to make me smile though​.
make room for you. Excitedly, my reply is “I promise, I’ll be there! “ Yay, maybe my southern voice should be trademarked. My charm works! I’m walking on air while waiting to order a beer. I listen to the orders requested ahead of me and take note that the ladies are ordering The Walrus, a Hazy IPA with notes of Tangerine and Peaches, so I place the same order.

We walk around looking for a place to sit and watch the skiers and snowboarders, but everything is taken. I spot a guy sitting at an eight top by himself. I wander over to ask if we can join. However, another guy jumps in front of me and inquires before I have the chance. Wait a minute, I recognize this dude. We ate breakfast at the Alpenhof Lodge every morning about the same time when I was here last. I remember him! The table guy informs the man asking to sit at his table that his friends are getting beer and will be out shortly and they need the entire table. I easily overhear this and must look so sad as he gets my attention saying I have room for
Toasting to New Friendships in Teton VillageToasting to New Friendships in Teton VillageToasting to New Friendships in Teton Village

Sammy is the man walking behind me
two though. I smile so big and begin to sit down but he politely asks me to scoot to the other end to save room for his friends. A good-looking young man, maybe mid 20s plops down by me. We hit it off and bicker the entire hour. My friend and I became acquainted with the table guy and his 5 friends. This was such a fun and divine connection. I felt like I was in the flow living in the present. What a great feeling. Sammy is the name of the good-looking man sitting beside me. When the other friends come, we must slide closer together. I accidentally let it slip out loud that I’m happy to slide closer to Sammy. Not realizing he hears me, he leans over and whispers, “not too close. I don't have all my shots yet” and grins big. Come to find out, he’s from Dallas only a half hour drive from me. Toasting our beers to good times and good friends. We all depart to our individual plans. I do hope to see him again!

On the bus back to Jackson, I’m daydreaming if our paths will cross again. Coincidence that his friend was the one from Alpenhof Lodge on my last visit or divine intervention? Back to reality exiting the bus and walking toward the hotel shuttle station, the cool crisp evening air makes me feel energetic. I have some time to dress for dinner and write down all my notes from today. I don’t want to forget one single moment. Today has truly been phenomenal. Dinner at Snake River Grill didn’t disappoint either even though I don’t typically eat past 7pm. I’m so pleased that we dined here. Major score.



Day 4 Monday – Fly back to DFW

All packed up and getting ready to return to the routine at home. We asked some locals where we should go for breakfast since we have time today to venture out. Persephone Bakery was the place to go. It’s a Chic French nook with artisanal breads, pastries & coffee, plus select light fare & outdoor seating. I ordered the Shakshuka, a dish with chickpeas, lentils, chard, tomato, cheese, and poached eggs with baguettes. Sitting outside I needed hot tea. The patio is nice and has heaters to help keep you warm but with cloudy skies and cold, damp humidity, I was still bitter cold. I don’t have on my ski clothes today. The meal was delicious and by now the shops are opening, so I picked up a couple last minute items that I just couldn’t leave behind. Today, I’m upgraded to 1st class, so the Duchess will fly home in style. Airport security was light since it’s a small airport. With time on hands, I find the souvenir shop where I purchased huckleberry jam back in September for dad. He requested more, so I aim to please. There’s a special today, so I fill up my carry-on bag…my arm will not be happy with me though. I don’t have time to look around as the attendant announces my flight is about to board, since I’m in 1st class; It’s my turn. I take my window seat and relax my arm that was carrying all those jams when I see Sammy boarding my plane. OMG! I can’t help but smile. I ask, what are you doing on my flight, I thought you were taking the early flight. He smiled and stated, I phoned American Airlines and told them that I had to fly with the Duchess, should have known she would be 1st class and chuckled. See you back in DFW. Read my, Duchess DJ’s Magical Encounters, eBook to find out more.



Closing remarks,

The Duchess meets not one but two appealing bachelors. Wonder what happens back in Texas?? I share a more in-depth review of this trip blog with numerous photos elaborating on the long weekend trip included in my eBook, Exploring the Greater Yellowstone and Grand Tetons, coming out soon. I’ll share specifics on the food we ate and where, with pictures and reviews, shops we purchased from and items we hate were left behind, the people factor - experiences. Most of my trips I plan it all, from cradle to grave so to speak. I thoroughly enjoy traveling. Thanks for following my journey. As outlined, you don’t have to be a skier to enjoy Jackson in the winter and I’ve shared lots of fun things to see and do. Additional photos and collages are at the bottom.

Email me: duchessDJlove@outlook.com for questions or comments. I’d love to hear from you! I’ve traveled to all 50 states and plan to post more of my adventures. South Lake Tahoe Ca, Big Island Hi, and Sedona Az are all in the works for travel this year.

Stay tuned in…


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb