Long Day; 75 mile uphill with Headwinds


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming » Dubois
July 17th 2018
Published: July 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I anticipated a long day and I sure wasn’t disappointed.

Knowing that, I was on the road right at Sunrise!

It was probably close to the longest day of my Trans Am to date.

The entire day from Lander was through the Wind River Indian Reservation and they don’t allow camping. So it is by nature a 75 mile uphill day.

Unfortunately, my luck didn’t hold out and I had strong headwinds all day.

I spent almost 8 hours on the bicycle!

However, the good news is that the scenery was absolutely beautiful today and my Cousin Janet met me in Dubois for a late lunch.

She also brought me some treats. Lots of good nutrition items from her health food store in Worland called Bee Healthy!

She also brought me a T shirt from Lisa at Larson Bicycles in Worland. It is bright yellow so everybody can see me.

Thank You both!

Back to the Wind River Reservation. It is absolutely huge!

1,880,000 acres. The Reservation was partitioned for both the Northern Shoshone and Arapaho Indian tribes in 1868 restricting them from their formerly vast territory.

The relationship
Cousin Janet bought me lunch Cousin Janet bought me lunch Cousin Janet bought me lunch

She also brought me lots of goodies from her Health Food Store in Worland
between the Shoshone and the White Man was always peaceful because of Shoshone Chief Washakie.

I rode right through the Tribal Headquarters of Fort Washakie named after the famous Chief.

Also buried in Fort Washakie is Sacajawea, who befriended the Louis and Clark Expedition and was a very valuable intermediary for them in traveling through Indian territory.

A prominent landmark that I saw for at least 30 miles was Crowheart Butte.

The historical landmark says it got its name after a fierce battle between the Shoshone and Crow tribes over hunting grounds.

The victorious Shoshone Chief Washakie displayed a Crow Heart on his lance at the victory dance and so the Butte got its name. There is also an Indian Curio shop hear the Butte named Crowheart. ( I took several pictures of Crowheart Butte.)

The last 20 miles today were beside the Wind River. It is a beautiful clear and fast moving river and I loved the sound of the flowing water alongside the road.

When I FINALLY arrived in Dubois it was a relief!

I must admit that I am pretty tired from today’s ride.

Tomorrow I have a lot of climbing to do over Togwatee Pass.

Hopefully the legs will be ready to go tomorrow.




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Wind RiverWind River
Wind River

This was along the highway for the last 20 miles


18th July 2018

Volcano
The news said a100 foot wide fissure has opened up North of Grand Teton. It’s always Something. K
18th July 2018

Nice going, Tough Guy!
I look forward to your blog every day! Keep up the great ride!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb