Yee-haw!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming » Cody
August 12th 2014
Published: July 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 44.5264, -109.056

Weather: High 80s and blue skies in Yellowstone. 90s in Cody. 
 Location: Gardiner, MT to Cody, WY
 Highlights: Moose, Buffalo walking down the road, Bull riding
 Lowlights: Leaving Gardiner
 #of Swearwords: I might have said some on the Bull
 People we met: Petra who worked at the Cody Cowboy Village. She was helpful from the moment I made the reservation to her kindness when we arrived. 
 Activities: Chuckwagon Dinner and show and the Cody Rodeo Stampede
 Hotel: Cody Cowboy Village (Neat place and very nice)
 Helpful hint: Chuckwagon dinner and show and rodeo is a good deal. They all work together. They'll tell you to stay for the whole show but I was told to get to the rodeo early so the kids and see the big bull and so, mommy could ride the bull. Not the real one. You want good seats too since it is general admission. Sit on the north bleachers near the middle front row is best.  
 Restaurants: Cody Country Chuckwagon (deelicious pulled beef- pot roast.)

it was a 4 hour drive to Cody from Gardiner. We planned to check out at 10 and head into the park and head out to the West gate to see the Grand Canyon. We could have taken
the Upper Loop west but, frankly, it is too damn scary. We'd rather risk the construction traffic. We got to the construction site and just as we passed the lady with the slow sign, she stopped everyone behind us. It would have been a good 30 minute wait then slow out. Whew. 

The Grand Canyon was beautiful. We had to hike this path through the woods along a horrifying canyon. It was two people wide. It was certain death if you slipped...or someone pushed you. Elizabeth had flip flops on and was walking on the inside of the path which was an incline. She kept slipping and at one point literally slipped into my path nearly sending me tumbling to my death. When we got to the overlook, we realized we could have driven down. Seriously. I lost a year of my life and added some gray hair on that little excursion. It was worth the story anyway. 

 Paul walked the road back to the car and drove down to get us. It was taking a while so we started walking up the road to find a giant bull elk sitting in the woods in all his glory. Later Paul asked if we wondered what took his so long. The elk.

On our way out of the park, we held on to every curve and beautiful vista taking mental pictures along the way to remember. We searched for our bear and moose. Nothing. As you leave the West gate, you enter the Shoshone National Park. There we saw our moose and her babies. I really wanted to see a Bull Moose but no luck. 

On to Cody. We arrived at the Cody Cowboy Village which is a horseshoe of cabins, some attached and some individual. We had an individual cabin with a king bedroom and a queen sofa couch in the living room Everyone loved the place. Cute little place to stay. Really nice bed with awesome pillows and mattress. 

The kids jumped into the pool size hottub. Nice but a little weird. By recommendation of Petra at the front desk, we should do the Chuckwagon dinner and Country show along with the rodeo. So, we did. It was great. It was right next door and the rodeo was a 5 minute walk. The food was delish and you eat at picnic tables and watch a country music show after dinner. Through research, I found out that we should go to the rodeo early to get seats and see the live bull. The people at the dinner of course wanted us to stay for the whole show but something told me to go early. So we did.

Sho-nuf, there was an enormous bull as gentle as a kittlen. We all got to sit on it. Not sure if it was the nicest thing to do but I wanted to sit on that giant animal. So we did. Then there was the mechanical sort of bull. I've always wanted to try it but when you are there and people are watching and people are falling off, something tells you to run. They all wanted me to do it. So I did. It was one of the hardest mother things I've ever done. I was in a dress holding on for dear life. Oh, it doesn't look fast until you are on it. I wasn't going to fall off. I was going to stay on that bull. So I did. I was the only one. ha. I couldn't walk after. My legs were shaking and I felt like I just worked out with Suzanned Somers and her thigh master. 

We found our seats in the front row and enjoyed something that none of us had ever seen. This is a true rodeo competition. It is the only rodeo that goes on every night of the week. Most are only certain dates. It was neat to see. Cowboys, cowgirls and little kids riding bulls. Elizabeth loved the girls barrel races. They had to circle three barrels and race back timed.  The bull riding was crazy. They don't stay on long. At least mine wouldn't attack me after throwing me off. Again the night weather was beautiful. We all had a blast. 

Off to bed to see what tomorrow bring going to Rapid City to see Mount Rushmore. We've waited a long time to see these great things. 

Good night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb