Mt. Rushmore - Day 12


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming » Cheyenne
July 3rd 2010
Published: July 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Day 12


a "calm" rest stopa "calm" rest stopa "calm" rest stop

This rest stop was between Rawlins & Cheyenne.
After a power breakfast (not) in the lobby of Super 8 in Dubois, WY, we were on our way. After several hours on the road, we (the car, Kay & I) were low on fuel. We pulled into the Conoco station in Rawlins to gas up. Before we drove away, I went inside to check with the attendant for a place to eat lunch. She recommended Penny’s Diner. Since it was very obvious to me that she had been living large, I figured Penny’s had to be good. Kay & I like to sit at the counter in diners because you really can get a sense of what’s going on. The daily special was 2 - cheeseburgers, 2 orders of fries & 2 - milk shakes. (Rob, this is the kind of food I have been looking for. I guess that care package won’t be needed after all.) The daily special sounded good to me but I wasn’t sure what Kay would eat. She let me know that ½ of the daily special would be plenty for me, (as it turns out she was right. Neither one of us were able to finish our halves.) The place really had character. T.J. was the cook & was assisted by Teresa. The waitresses were Olivia & Darlene. Olivia took our order & we settled into soaking up the “atmosphere.” In a little while, two of the locals came in & joined us at the counter. The skinny older man (the only truly skinny person in the joint) ordered his meal & a glass of tea with lemon. Darlene brought out his tea & went on to the next customer. In a little while, she checked back with “skinny” to see if he needed anything else. He asked if he could have another lemon, one with some juice in it this time. I’ll have to remember that the next time I get a dry lemon! We finished our specials, paid the bill & were on our way.

Our next stop was a few more hours down the road at a rest area. The sign said “watch for high wind.” They weren’t just a wolfin! There was a very strong wind & it was just starting to rain. We could only open one car door at a time to keep the contents in the car from blowing all over the highway! We then headed on down the road to Cheyenne. More tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 71; dbt: 0.12s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb