South Dakota Trip-Day One


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin
June 10th 2012
Published: June 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Our trip started at 7:30 a.m. in Appleton WI. It was bright and blue skies with a light wind, perfect day for riding. We took Hwy 96 to Hwy 76 to Hwy 10 until Waupaca to Hwy 22 where we got off onto Hwy 21. We reached Adams/Friendship WI and at this point we had gone 103 miles and it was 9:30 am and I felt it was the right time to eat. For those of you who don't know this about me when I get hungry I get extremel cranky so Steve knows that when I say I am hungry we need to eat pronto! We stopped in Adams/Friendship because we lived in there for a year so we know the best places to eat there. The restaurant called Hwy 21/13 Cafe located on Hwy 21 does not necessarily have the greatest service, our waitress was more concerned about watching her co-workers goof around then taking our order, but they definitely have great food and it comes out fast and hot. In keeping with our motorcycle ride theme we will grade each place we eat, play or stay by motorcycles, the rating will be 1-5 with 1 being the worse and 5 being the best. I would give the Hwy 21 Cafe 5 motorcycles for food and a 2 motorcycles for service. Now that we were both well fed and me happy we went about our way. We continued on Hwy 21 through Necedah to connect with Hwy 80 and then finally to I-90.

As we got nearer to Camp Douglas we began to see the high bluffs that the Mississippi Valley is known for, we went passed LaCrosse and entered Minnesota. We followed the Mississippi river briefly on I-90 which had some of the most beautiful views. All of the sudden the views went away and all we saw was corn and prairie. At this point in the ride the wind began to pick up and for the rest of the ride we were dealing with what could only be described as Hurricane Force Winds, there were times that I was as nervous as a long tailed cat in roomful of rocking chairs, but more about the wind later. We stopped at our second stop at 132 miles at around 12:30 pm. Right before we stopped a huge bug hit my new white shirt and splattered on it with a big yellow and green splotch. We stopped at the Whitewater Cafe in St Charles Minnesota. This is a lovely little cafe with a delightful owner and waitresses. They were extremely friendly and brought me a small cup of bleach to try to get the bug guts out, it didn't work but then I said I was going to take it with me and she gave me a baggie to put the container in so I could soak the shirt at the hotel room. I would definitely give the Whitewater Cafe 5 motorcycles for both service and food. If you ever are that way you should stop in and see them, they are wonderful!

Advertisement



11th June 2012

Enjoying your posts
Since we are headed out that way in a week or so, I am very interested in your blog, and especially since I see you are a dachshund owner. We have 4, we have 2 daughters, all grown up, married, and we have 3 grandchildren. This is a big trip for us, leaving MA to head for south, then turning west, then up to CA, then head back through Salt Lake City, Mt Rushmore, Hannibal, MO, then into Ohio and home. 3 wks on the road with all 4 pups. Have a great trip, and I will be following your adventures, I think you are very brave doing it on a motorcycle, we're doing an rv. Eileen Clay
13th June 2012

Thank you
Hi Eileen, I just figured out to review comments. Thank you so much for liking the blog, Steve and I are fun people or so we are told. We love our little guys and miss them greatly. We are planning our next trip out here already but we may take an RV and trailer the bikes, this was a hard trip. Keep reading, we are having a great time. Lisa

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb