Not For The Faint of Heart


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Land O' Lakes
October 10th 2018
Published: October 11th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Tree in Front of Gateway LodgeTree in Front of Gateway LodgeTree in Front of Gateway Lodge

I'm hoping to see a lot more like this.
I made it to Land O' Lakes this afternoon after a 420 mile ride. I left home at 4:45 AM to beat the lousy Chicago traffic and the weather was perfect, temps in the high 60's and no rain. That lasted about 150 miles and then the rains came. I wore my rain gear when I left home because I knew I would run into it. Well, it lasted throughout the balance of 270 miles to Land O' Lakes. Some was heavy and some was light, but never did it completely stop. Traffic was light so the riding wasn't too bad. About 30 miles south of here the temperature dropped into the mid 40's and it was 44 when I arrived. I saw a lot of pretty color in the trees the further north I went, but didn't want to stop to take photos in the rain.



I wanted an adventure and I knew the weather would be a challenge, but I still love the challenge. I kinda wanted to see how a fat old man of almost 69 would handle it and I still have some of the old spark left. I'm hoping the weather forecast hold
Made ItMade ItMade It

At the Gateway Lodge, Land O' Lakes, WI.
up. It's supposed to be cold with snow showers tomorrow and clear up after that My plan was to ride to the Lake in the Clouds Thursday for a great view of the forests, but I may chicken out with that forecast. We'll see.

Advertisement



11th October 2018

good stuff
12th October 2018

Riding into Winter
Sounds like good preparation for the snowmobile season
12th October 2018

Snowmobile Season
It sure seems like it, Bill. It is 27 degrees this morning.

Tot: 0.42s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 21; qc: 107; dbt: 0.2208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb