Moorefield WV to Charles Town WV Following the Potomac


Advertisement
Published: July 24th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Mount Olivet is a common name for Methodist churches. I followed Mount Olive road for maybe 10 miles today, past the church building and cemetary arriving eventually at the door of the Horn Camp school house, which I had visited last year. Once in you are treated to a vision of the "good" old days of the one room for 8 grades schoolhouse, active between the 1880's and 1952, now filled with collections of farm tools and memorabilia. The neighbors are proud of their museum, and one can visit with the curator for as long as one wishes.

Crossing the C & O Canal was like meeting an old friend. With a lock and a towpath and a Lock Keeper's House, it was like being in Carderock MD once again. There were even a couple of bicyclists (in my age range) who had pedaled (with electrical assistance) all the way from the Nation's Capital, having left Georgetown three days ago. I had difficulty believing that the meandering stream I had just crossed on a low wooden Toll Bridge was the North Branch. Turns out it joins the South Branch a few miles to the East, to become the full fledged Potomac.

The route follows the Potomac river very closely, turning East with the River and offering wonderful views of the valley. The route drops Southeast to Shepherdstown WV which turned out to be completely shuttered due to Covid-19. I did find accommodation at Charles Town WV, a few miles further down the road.

Today was also the day where I engaged in a long phone conversation with my sister and brother regarding the future care of my mother during and after Covid 19. My mother lives alone in the UK South of London. My sister also lives in the UK. It took place at the open eating area of the Oak Barrell Cafe, where the MABDR hits I 68 for a few miles. From then on I had that subject on my mind, and, when not riding, was hard pressed to focus on anything else.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb