Hike up to Hart Lake


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
May 29th 2011
Published: June 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

What an amazing day I have had today! The Lord's Day began with breakfast conversation followed by a walk around the village and pictures of chalet hill. Morning prayer from the Gather hymnal was at 9am and it was absolutely wonderful. One of the scripture readings had the verse, "In God we live and move and have our being." That verse has stayed with me all day. After worship Mark and I hiked up to Hart Lake and brought snow shoes just in case. The sun and blue skies came out and the views all along the way were spectacular! We got there by noon and I quickly rigged up to fish. I used a couple of wooly buggers and did quite well. I think I caught close to 12 total. Most were 7-8 inches. I did catch a 10+ incher and the real highlight was landing two at the same time on my last cast. I caught rainbow, cut throat, and what is either a golden or another breed of cut throat trout. All of them handsome and beautiful. I had a blast and felt so alive on the hike back. We covered close to 10 miles up and back. The scenery included: waterfalls, avalanche shoots, majestic mountains, hart lake, flowers, chipmunks, a grouse, deer, butterflies, and even a bear running away. It was a pretty day-all day and I am grateful that the God of all creation saved my best day at Holden for last.. Now I am off to go celebrate the Eucharist...we used Now the Feast and Celebration. A good way to end the day. Good night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb