Holden Village Day 1 and 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
May 25th 2011
Published: June 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 1 - After 9 hours of sleep I awoke to a quiet house. I started to read about the history of Holden Village and wrote in my journal until it was time to enjoy some french toast and fresh fruit with two other guests staying at the Holden B&B.

The 3 of us caught the Lady of the Lake ferry boat and enjoyed the 2 hour ride up Lake Chelan to Lucerne. The views were simply majestic. The mountains seemed to grow right out of the lake on both sides. I learned that the Cascade mountains and the deep lake were originally formed by a series of glacers and the highest peak down to the lowest point in Lake Chelan is the deepest gorge in North America - deeper than the Grand Canyon!

After we landed at Lucerne we still had a 45 minute bus ride up a switchback dirt road up to Holden Village. When we arrived the whole village was outside ready to greet us by waving and clapping. What a warm reception! I turned in my lake trout to the kitchen, attended orientation, and moved into my modest room. I had just enough time to make a 5 mile hike with a young college student named Mark. We had to hike through snow, but it was worth it to see 2 waterfalls --- 10-Mile Creek Falls and Monkey Bear Falls.

Evening worship was nice and the closing song, "You Have Come Down to the Lakeshore" (ELW 817) reminded me of my sabbatical theme. I also read a quote from George Utech in the book on Holden Village. He likened the long Lake Chelan boat trip to our baptism and said, "We are reborn, subconsciously prepared for a new life by that journey through the water!" I have arrived and begun a new experience.

Day 2 - The articles of incorporation from 1984 state: "Holden Village is organized to provide a community for healing, renewal and refreshment of people through worship, intercession, study, humor, work, recreation and conversation in a climate of mutual acceptance under the Lordship of Jesus Christ. Rehabilitating and equipping people for ministry in the world; lifting up a vision of God's kingdom of peace, justice and wholeness; and celebrating the unity and the diversity of the church, all humanity and all creation."

Very cool!

Morning Matins: 2 Cor 5:17 - "Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, they are a new creation; The old has passed away. Behold, everything has become new." This will be my focus for today as I continue to let go, slow down and rediscover my identity and new life, every day, with Christ. After shopping at the bookstore, I wrote 3 postcards to my family. I greeted the new group arriving and then went off fishing up Railroad Creek. Snow and fast water made it difficult, but I managed to catch 3 (and missed 3). A nice golden on a spinner and 2 small rainbow on a fly. I enjoyed hiking and exploring despite the rain. I finished the book "Surprising Gift" by Lutz on the history of Holden Village and also read "Life of the Beloved" by Henri Nouwen. The reading community and worship life here is all working together - opening my heart and mind to a new way of living. I pray that God will open my eyes wide to see and absorb more and more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb