Rwanda Vision Trip: Day 9-10


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Vancouver
January 18th 2010
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Home, Sweet Home.
Queen sized bed, with a really comfy mattress, no mosquito net, and family to welcome me!

So "today" which was really 2 days started with waking up in Kigali:
We all were up early, showered and had an early breakfast to get out the door by just after 8 to get to the Dream Center chapel by 8:30. Oh yea, the guest house offers 2 tyopes of showers: 1) Bucket Shower (previously described); 2) Military Shower (Get wet, turn off water, soap up, rinse off) After a shower I had some time to look at email before my last Rwandan breakfast.

We then went to Africa New Life's Dream Center for worship. It was amazing to see people sing and dance during the worship. The singing was in English as was the sermon. It was incredible - something you have to experience, not read about. We stayed for the worship part of the KinyaRwanda service. The singing and dancing was even more wild at this service.

We then went back to the ANL guest house for lunch. I had time to kill so I chatted with some of the new arrivals. There are always guests coming and going on various missionary type activities. Some directly related to ANL and some completely separate. It was great to see so many people from so many different walks of life serving God in Rwanda, in so many different ways.

At 4 PM I left the guest house for the airport. The check in process was a little slow, but went without a hitch. I left Kigali for Nairobi at 6:25 PM. On the plane I sat next to a geophysicist from Houston (Originally from Canada) who was there to study the volcanoes and the natural gas in Lake Kivu. We talked all the way to Nairobi. I had a bit of a layover in Nairobi, and met a man who is working in Zambia feeding orphans. We talked while we waited for our planes - the same plane to London. I left Nairobi at 11:45 Pm and we flu to London arriving at 5:45 AM. I tried to get some sleep, but mostly just watched movies. I tried to sleep in the airport at London, but once I got through the terminal and checked in to my United Airlines flights (the first 2 legs were on Kenya Air) I was too wired to sleep. I got some breakfast and did some studying (PDF journal articles I had brought on my laptop). I had to be patted down and have my camera bag thoroughly searched before going to the gate at London Heathrow. I left London at 12:05 and had a brief "stopover" in Chicago. This was a "direct flight" to portland - same flight number , but different seat. Oh, yea, and I had to get off the plane, get my checked bags, go through customs, recheck my bags, go through security, and get from the international terminal to the other terminal and board onto a completely different type of airplane to continue on my "direct flight." Oh, yea, and I had about 1-1/2 hours to do all that.

I made it to my flight from Chicago to Portland, and the 4 hours were OK. My laptop battery was dead, no more journal reading. I read some of the onboard magazine, and watched a movie (I think). I made it in to PDX (Portland Airport) at 7:40 - several minutes early. I went to the baggage claim only to find out that while I made the mad dash to my flight in Chicago, my luggage had NOT.

Mary picked me up, brought me home, I had a little dinner since I was starving, and then I went to be: 50 hours after I had woken up that "day". Good thing I have tomorrow off to recover before I have to return to work!

Doc Jim signing off from Vancouver, WA: Home, Sweet, Home!!!

P.S. - check back later for pictures, or try my family web site at:
prov1810.web.officelive.com


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb