Half marathon and The Camino


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Tacoma
June 16th 2013
Published: June 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I ran the Vancouver USA half marathon for the second year today. I really didn't feel prepared for this race. My head wasn't in it - my head is already in Spain - and I have been training the last couple months to walk with a 21 pound pack on my back not run 13.1 miles. Yet this morning came and I felt good and was keeping positive about running the best race I could.

Pastor Ruud had commented to me a couple weeks ago that I had already started on The Camino. Well if I hadn't already, I definitely did today. I did a lot of praying and talking to God during that run. It was a good run and for a while I thought I might have a new personal best. That was one of my prayers - please God let me be able to finish this race strong and dedicate a new personal best to You and The Camino. I also prayed a lot for being open to things - to really seeing those things we don't often see and accepting what comes my way as I head on my pilgrimage. I prayed for a lot of things. As I hit mile 10 it was apparent to me that a personal best was not going to happen. I started to be disappointed, but then I remembered I prayed to be open and to stay strong. I had a good race - a strong one - and a good finish. The miracle was that I realized God answered my prayer, but not in the way I expected, and if I hadn't been paying attention I might have missed it. I have NEVER run a race, especially NOT a half marathon, without pain. Yes my muscles were sore, but shoot I just made them run 13.1 miles. My knee and hip that are always aching by mile 8 or 10 were fine and no pain in the back. Now that was an amazing gift. Far better than beating my personal best. I finished the race 5 minutes slower than last year, but I finished with a smile on my face and pain free!

So in 4 hours I leave for SeaTac to catch my plane to New York and from their to Barcelona. I feel ready and I feel positive. I look forward to what this pilgrimage will bring me - even the pain and suffering I may go thru. I give thanks to all of you who bless my life and for those praying for me on this journey. And I trust my prayers will be answered - maybe not as I wish but as He wishes.

Peace be with you all,

Linda

Advertisement



19th June 2013

Good luck .... I look forward to your next post ...
My gf and I are planning this same walk for either Aug/Sept and was happy to read of your plans for the Camino de Santiago. I will look for your updates as they trickle in; and hope to learn some valuable info re: what to expect, etc. Good luck to you as you pursue your own dreams ..... Regards from San Diego, CA -Eric g. PS Feel free to write me directly if you have some interesting info to share.

Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb