Sleepless in Seattle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
October 11th 2006
Published: October 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

USA Trip


George Bush watch out! We are invading your country. Ok so we got to Seattle 2 days late but we got there nevertheless. Custom’s only held us up for 45 minutes. My sister got questioned a lot. I got fingerprinted and photographed (again). What was the point of the stupid USA visitor visa I wonder?).
So they let us go (bad move USA if you ask me ;-)). We cruised around the outlet malls before getting into Seattle during rush hour (groan) and discovering that my attitude of (winging) the trip backfired. I had not booked accommodation and the desired hostel was full. Whoops!. On to the next who gladly took us. But because we were in the centre city there was no permanent parking. Arggg. What a nightmare, I ended up parking in some dodgy area for the night as it was free, and praying that my car had not been cleaned out in the morning. I even had to buy dinner for a con artist homeless guy to see if we would keep an eye on it for me.
Anyway the hostel we stayed at (The green tortoise) was good in regards to food. Free BIG dinner and breakfast, Japanese break dancers and wireless…..oh it felt so good to cruise on the internet again! As a result we did some homework this time and booked a 3 star hotel with two queen beds for…wait for it $60 US a night with free breakfast, the same price as the hostel. What a joke!
Anyway the hostel was real noisy that night and I didn’t sleep well as a result. I had to contend with thumping bass from the nearby nightclub, people in the room above me, a very drunk English lad, and then to top it off, a elephant snorer.
Welcome to the USA!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.7kb