Seattle to Belfair


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
June 1st 2015
Published: June 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Seattle to Maggie Lake


Memorial Weekend we headed to our family cabin on Maggie Lake. We traveled by bikes with our panniers loaded. This was a practice run for me before we head to Spain. Friday afternoon we took the Fauntleroy/Southworth Ferry to Port Orchard. In Port Orchard we stopped at the public market for some beef sticks and a delicious hemp milk, spinach and fruit smoothie. Out of Port Orchard we biked towards hwy 16 to make our way to hwy 3 towards Belfair. I was not prepared to cross all 4 lanes of hwy 16 on our bikes. Instead we hiked up a steep embankment with our bikes and crossed a railroad tressel. Not sure if it was the easiest way. But it was sure a lot safer. Once we arrived on the old Belfair Hwy there was a constant stream of cars. It was a little nerve racking giving the fact that there isn't much of shoulder. As we approached Belfair there was the biggest back up we had ever seen. Over a mile long. All the cars that had cruised past us were creeping along and we got to pass them all. We stopped at the QFC in Belfair to pick up spaghetti for dinner. We headed on our way towards Belfair state park and along the Northshore road. Less than 5 miles to go, I was done. I was hungry, tired and didn't think I could go on. Then my husband said " You can call your mom" . Even though that was an option, I knew I couldn't quit. Not only we were less than 5 miles there was an extremely large hill we had to climb to get to the cabin. The battle of wills began. This hill has kicked by butt before, I decided that I would not let it get the best of me today. I reminded my husband that I was stronger than the last time I attempted this hill. (Boot camp for the past year has really been a boost to my work out regimen) As we slowly pedaled up the hill, I did a lot of self talk and a little zig zagging. Numerous times I told my husband to stop talking so I can concentrate ( He didn't appreciate that. He likes to talk, ALOT). What a relief it was to finally make it up the 1.3 mile hill. There were a few more ups and downs but the hill was OVER. We arrived at the cabin 5.5 hours after leaving Seattle and riding 50 miles. The rest of the weekend was spent hanging with family and friends and paddle boarding in Hood Canal. Monday we rode our bikes home taking the Bremerton Ferry. A much easier ride and only 40 miles. I feel like I am getting ready for Spain.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb