Don't call it a "blog"; it's a "travel journal"


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
June 4th 2008
Published: June 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Warning: Reading this probably won't be fun. That being said, enjoy. (also, my blog is "public" so if you're reading this and you don't know me, then it's probably even less funny and not worth your time.)

I wrote a little every day that I've been here and I'm just now posting it so some of you that actually are checking this probably have already heard the stories.

June 1: When I got off the plane at SEA-TAC, I figured that I'd need beer, brains, and a little luck to get me to my brother's house. And I was right, I arrived alive via help from my first three friends in Seattle who just happen to be an alcoholic, an atmospheric scientist, and a bingo-aholic. For dinner we had a korean dinner complete with sesame leave wraps with japanese sliced ribeye steak, korean peppers, sauces and other vegetables that i'm not familiar with. Soup was a side, with clams that were bought alive/fresh that day. Kimchee was another side that was homemade, the sauce used was homemade in Korea by Daisy's mom and shipped here to the US. Daisy's mom makes it by memory and doesnt have a recipe written down, plus she has better indgredients (better ingredients, better kimchee, papa johns?). Since my brother (Mike), his wife (Daisy) and my nephew (Neeko) are poor and just moved in they don't really have any furniture outside the typical bamboo matt. So, I slept on a bamboo mat with a cover and what I think is a lumbar support pillow as my normal pillow. I'm not even going to talk about the highschool girls that sat next to me on the plane that I wanted to punch in the face - you can just use your imagination.

June 2: i crack and get a starbucks coffee. Neeko thinks everything is a plane that has to fly around and make noises until it crashes with lots of explosion sounds. 2 days now and no rain. It was a bit chilly in the morning but warmed up a bit and is much better than St. Louis heat. I also just realized that my brother and Daisy don't have cable. However, they do have a satelite that I guess is pointed to Korea because it picks up only Korean channels. That doesn't do me much good. I'm not sure how I'm going to get my Brian Williams and Stephen Colbert fix yet. Not to mention, Cardinals games...Mitch, have you bought MLB live yet? Oh, the movie "Muppets in Space" is actually kind of funny. I don't think anyone actually ever saw it though - Neeko owns it. Also, i found 3 tetherball courts. I didn't know these still existed, now I'm just looking for a partner to play me. I'm a secret Tetherball pro and I play dirty.

I often call Lori to bring me down to earth (or more like down to earth and rub my face into the ground a little bit), and a phone call tonight was no different. She aptly pointed out that I have no friends. That's fine. BUT I'm not looking for friends, I'm just looking for drinking partners (beer/wine/coffee...anything) and apparently I don't even have drinking partners in Seattle. So, after accepting all of the non-responses from e-mails that I sent to "friends" that live in the area, I whored myself out to the CS group of Seattle. I even offered to drive them or begged for them to pick me up if I was on the way to the next event. I even gave them my Virgin---mobile cell phone number. Get your head out of the gutter, Sarah, John, and Kevin. I know Sarah is reading this and thinking "why do you need friends so bad?" Well, that's easy for her to say when she has that orgasmic chocolate bread pudding down the street from her at Solace -- that's the best she's ever had...I'm still talking about bread puddng. Anyway, I dont know where I'm going with this. Time to watch a movie.

June 3: Cabin fever is setting in since I haven't left the block really. So, we left to go to the QFC (grocery store - Quality Food Center) and the rest of University Village Shopping center where I saw Dave Mathews last time I was in town. Sorry Mike, no Dave sitings this time but then again, I can only picture him from when he was popular, he probably has aged a lot and has grey hair and is an old man now - I'll keep an eye out. Favorite part of this trip was when Neeko and I split the BEST chocolate chip cook ever and shared a milk. It was a little embarrassing to order though because it's a pretty ritzy shopping center and i forgot to drive my Bentley so when the lady asked me what kind of milk I wanted and listed off a bunch of different kinds I had to respond with "whatever is cheapest" and i think the lady behind me gave me a look - bitch. Did I mention that she didnt have anyone to eat with besides her dog that she brought with her to eat there?

**this just in -- I am not Korean. So, my Mike and Daisy bought me an air mattress. I'll actually sleep tonight...UNLESS the insane rice maker wakes me up screaming and steaming and talking to me in Korean (in a woman's voice). It freaked me out this morning at 5am when I thought some Korean lady (other than Daisy) was in the kitchen.

June 4: woke up early and went to a coffee shop to "study" but really just listened to peoples' conversations. The most important thing that I learned today was that Seattle doesn't have fireflys. I think this is 90% true because it's possible that I missed part of their conversation.

Tonight: CS event - pub quiz. I'm excited but the few people that are coming are bring friends with them so hopefully they're social and I am not the loser of the group. Basically I hope they ask really embarrassing trivia that I know. ah hem, Libby "i'm from the midwest but don't listen to country but get every country music question right when i play trivia in NYC" Gray


Advertisement



5th June 2008

Tetherball champ
It sounds like you got some chocolate heaven of your own out there! But you ate it with your nephew? Ew. What kind of perv are you?

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb