Fictional Seattle


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle » Bell Town
January 12th 2015
Saved: May 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Who is Seattle's most famous fictional character? There are many, and here are some of my favorites:

Eddie Crane is the little Jack Russell terrier on Frasier. He is known for his acting, and by being the only one who is not talking. Our dog Buddy is often mistaken for a Jack Russell, since the temperament is similar. The other part about the TV show I liked was the view from Frasier's high rise apartment in downtown Seattle. I have yet to find that view, or even come close on any of my visits here.



My other favorite fictional character from Seattle is Mike Doonesbury, also known as Michael James Doonesbury. He started out as a freshman from Tulsa at Walden College, and shared a dorm room with B.D. He is married to Kim Rosenthal, and divorced from Joanie Caucus. Mike's daughter Alex lived with Kim and Mike until she left for M.I.T. Mike is the everyman of the comic strip, well adjusted, and easy to relate to.



The best movie for fictional characters is one of my all time favorites, Sleepless in Seattle, starring two of my favorites, Meg Ryan (Annie Reed) and Tom Hanks (Sam Baldwin). A bit of trivia, Sheri went to the same high school (Skyline High in Oakland) with Thom, as he was known then. But the main item I remember from the movie are the fabulous houseboats on Lake Union. Though I am not one to want to live on the water, Tom's houseboat is Seattle would be the most tempting, if only for the great location.



Don't try to find any of these three in Seattle. Though they all seem so real, the closest you will find is a houseboat. They have been around Seattle for over 100 years, and have come to be part of the landscape of this beautiful city. It may have started out as low cost housing, but has been transformed to a hip place to live. I would love to attend a cocktail party on a houseboat. Just don't ask me to spend the night! I left out many others: Christian Grey (50 Shades), Robert Rath (Assassins), Harry (Harry and the Hendersons), Patrick Verona (Ten Things I Hate about You!), Max Guevara (Dark Angel), and McQ (Dirty Harry). Likewise, real life people like Bill Gates, Jimi Hendrix, Josie Bissett, Jon Krakuaer, Bill Boeing, and Bruce Lee may seem equally fictional and mythical. As the years go by, it may be that all of Seattle becomes its own fiction, that high tech and all its glory fades into darkness. After all, look what happened to Microsoft. The same could happen to Amazon and its denizens of techies prowling and prancing along the streets at lunch and dinner time.

But I can assure you that my Seattle is definitely non-fiction!

COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb