Getting ready


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle » Ballard
June 18th 2010
Published: June 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hey friends!

So I leave tomorrow for my Alaskan cruise experience and I'm more excited than ever!! My last contract was a 7-week dream cruise from San Diego, California to Rome, Italy and it was amazing! However, 50 days away from my friends and family was a bit trying at times, so I think this shorter contract will suite me better. Anywho, I thought I'd give you all the run down on what I'll be doing while I'm abroad (can I call it "abroad" even though I'm still visiting US ports? There are some Canadian ports too, so yes, I can say that) and what I've been doing thus far in preparing for this once in a lifetime adventure!

First of all, my title on board is "Show Pianist". This means that at my bar (yes, it's mine!!) I'm required to play "Feature Shows" that highlight the musical history of certain artists/time periods. These shows are what I've been preparing for for the past few weeks. Elton John, Billy Joel, The Beatles, Carole King/James Taylor, Name-that-tune, and Motown are the shows I have prepared (just so you know EXACTLY what I'll be doing while I'm gone). The shows last for about an hour, then I get to play randoms/take requests for the rest of the evening. The shows last from 8pm-1am. I get a few breaks here and there, but the one big downside is that I don't ever get a day off 😞

Some of the adventures I'm hoping I get to experience include a bird-watching excursion, dog-sledding, lots of hiking, and a helicopter ride up to the top of a glacier!!! I don't want to get my hopes up, but I am!!! AHH!!!

I'm also really excited because I get to bring friends on board with me this time!! Due to the fact that I've worked a Holland America cruise contract before, they allow returning some employees (again, I'm special) to bring guests with them on board for free!!! This first week I'll be by myself, but the second week I'm bringing my sister and world famous artist Ana Tyler on board with me!!! Let this be a reminder to everyone out there that wants to travel with me in the future: I enjoy chocolate chip cookies, back rubs, and compliments on how I look better without hair on my head 😊


I board the ship tomorrow at 9am, and then I'm off to see more of the world that has yet to be seen..


....well, ok it's been seen before, but not by me. Keep revisiting this blog to read about my latest adventures, and don't hesitate to comment on these entries because I absolutely LOVE reading them while I'm underway.

Take care everyone!! Talk soon,

Charlie Bear

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 53; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb