Greetings from Seattle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » SeaTac
August 31st 2013
Published: August 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

As some people may know, but others do not, one of this year's vacations is taking me to Alaska. However, since I couldn't fly direct from NY to Anchorage, I decided to stop for a few days in Seattle and see my friend TJ.

Had a nice flight yesterday, not too much rough air, and touched down pretty much on time. Met three nice ladies who were heading out on a cruise from Seattle to Alaska and who were staying at the same hotel as me. Caught the shuttle from the airport to the hotel and after a yummy dinner at the hotel restaurant, turned in early.

Had a busy day today. walked to the airport, caught the light rail into downtown seattle, about a 45 minute ride, some pretty scenery. TJ was late due to trying to find parking, but eventually we found each other, then we took the monorail to Seattle Center where the Space Needle is. Didn't go up it, but took some pictures. Went to 2 museums. One had the works of the glass artist Chuilly, who did the ceiling of the Bellagio hotel in Vegas. Some incredible stuff there. The other was the EMP , which has a nice fantasy exhibit (costumes from Labyrinth, Princess Bride) and icons of Science Fiction and Horror exhibit, as well as some rock exhibits . Then TJ showed me the fountain near there, and then we grabbed some lunch. Took the monorail back to downtown, walked around a bit, went down to the waterfront then to the Public Market. And I do mean DOWN. It's a pretty steep walk down to the water and 89 stairs back up to the market. We saw the "first" Starbucks, but the line was insane, so we didn't go in. TJ walked me back to the train station, and I zipped back to the airport. Stopped at Denny's for dinner, then picked up some snacks for tonight and tomorrow.

Advertisement



31st August 2013

You will love Alaska. Keith and I went in 2008 for 10 days on a Royal Caribbean Cruise and had a fabulous time.
31st August 2013

It sounds like a great trip to Seattle. I was in that city briefly last time I was in the US (Two or three years ago? It wasn't a long trip to Seattle, and it wasn't for happy reasons.)). It made me happy to read that you are still in touch with TJ and that you got to see him! You're on my mind frequently... like, more than you'd believe. I've been in touch with Regina/Amy a bit lately. She seems to be doing well.
31st August 2013

Glad I didn't call
Dear Mindy, I was thinking of calling to wish you a Shannah Tova and that sort of stuff, but instinct told me not to . . . now I understand why. Have a great trip!

Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0818s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb