Island Parallels Part I


Advertisement
Published: June 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I've been thinking a lot about the parallels between the San Juan Islands and the Land of the Green Isles (I think everyone reading this realizes the Land of the Green Isles is a fictional place from King's Quest VI). Here, there is still a ferry running between the islands, which is inconvenient because it costs money. I would much prefer a magic map obtained at a pawn shop, although I don't have a pearl or an insignia ring. Maybe I could try getting one for my high school class ring? I realize that in KQ6 the ferry was always there, but it is sort of like living in a computer game because sometimes the ferry is there outside the window and sometimes it isn't. If I was in a game where the ferry was still working, I suspect that the ferry would also be there sometimes and sometimes not, although you would never know exactly when that would be so you would get frustrated and have to go to a different screen and come back and maybe it would be there. Okay, so here there is actually a ferry schedule but I don't have it memorized so it's still like a computer game.
*Disclaimer*
The parallels between islands cannot be exact as the Land of the Green Isles contains only 5 islands and the San Juan Islands are made up of 450 islands (although only about 75 are inhabited and only 15 are accessible by the ferry) but I will be discussing those with the most obvious parallels.
First up:
San Juan Island---->Isle of the Crown
Geographically, San Juan Island may be more like the Isle of Wonder, as it is also sort of comma-shaped (okay a backwards comma), but politically it could be none other than Isle of the Crown. Friday Harbor is the county seat of San Juan County, and obviously the royal family was in charge of the Land of the Green Isles (before the King and Queen were murdered by the vizier, of course). An island named Castle Island does exist, but I don't think it actually has any castles on it.
I have most of the other islands in mind, but you'll have to stay tuned to part II because I have having difficulties thinking of a match for the Isle of Wonder, as I haven't heard of anyplace here yet that has dwarves (or were they gnomes?), dancing wallflowers, barking dogwood trees, and a chessboard land.


Advertisement



21st June 2008

Well done! I am looking forward to Isle of the Beast.
21st June 2008

Hmm...
And what will the Isle of the Mists be? Are there colonies of practicing Druids nearby?

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb