Orcas Island, WA


Advertisement
Published: June 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Seattle-Anacortes-Orcas Island

We took I-5 N up to Anacortes and connected to the Orcas Island ferry, an hour ride from Anacortes.

This is a trip we took back in March this year. Just a mini-vacation of 3 days at Orcas Island. We drove north to catch the ferry at Anacortes. We were lucky that the weather turned out to be kind to us even though the forecast didn't expect much from it that weekend. Having been to both the NE and the NW of the country, I guess I can say that both are fairly similar in terms of unpredicatable weather. It seems more true to the NW area in late spring. I can't say much more than this because I haven't been back that long.



We spent most of our time on the eastern side of the island mostly because I wanted to get away from the area with higher concentration of tourists; though it was pretty quiet since it was a low season still. We tackled Moran State Park on our first day. Not that I couldn't wait to hit the place, but we got there so early in the day that we practically had no ideas what else to do. The trail leading up to the tower located at the summit of the mountain didn't reveal its charm until the very last stretch of the hike. The sky was mostly clear and Victoria, B.C. was in full views. The tower provided even more panoramic views. The catch was to watch out for patches of ice that were still sitting on the steps.



Orcas Island is a small and fairly secluded island. It took us about 45 minutes to drive from one end to the other in the north-south and east-west directions (the island is horseshoe-shaped). Our main dining area was Eastsound which covers roughly 4 blocks across, north and south. Shops selling sort of typical touristy items, but with more local artistic touches which made them quite unique and charming. There was a pastry shop "Wild Flour" that made these awesome goodness Coconut Meringue cookies and Russian cookies. I stopped by there after our meals everyday and put in an order to take home as well. The Coconut Meringue cookies have long been gone. I'm still drooling for them and wish I had ordered a larger quantity for those, but deeply I know I really have to watch my cholesterol. So, I guess, this ended up being better for me. A dozen of Russian cookies are still sitting in the freezer to be enjoyed later throughout the year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Trail up to Mt. ConstitutionTrail up to Mt. Constitution
Trail up to Mt. Constitution

Looking south east from the trail, Cypress Island is in the back center of the picture.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb