Pre-PCT, pt2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Olympia
July 19th 2012
Published: July 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone,

I've been wanting to add a new entry to this pre-trip blog, but have been patiently (as o menos) waiting for that muse to make her random and oh so unpredictable appearance.

As I am wont to feel and believe, the only thing permanent is change; as such, there are a couple salient details to update you on. My experience with hiking is limited to a number of dayhikes, and the tallest 'mountain' I've summited is Mt Eleanor at approx 6,000ft. As such, both with requisite humility born of multiple errors and a realistic perspective, I've been adjusting my trip to fit what I'm hoping is a doable itinerary.

With my previous global travels, I've taken much joy in pre-trip planning. Having always loved maps, it's fun to look, plot, imagine and wonder what an upcoming journey will be and feel like. This trip is no different in that regard, with the very tangible exception that this pilgrimage will be the most physically, and perhaps mentally, strenuous yet.

Since my experience with snow-hiking is minimal, I have decided to set out southbound from the Oregon/Washington border-on or around 8/1. A major wild card is the snowpack in the High Sierra; as such, won't know if I will arrive there in time to avoid the new snows, or have to detour around. Once I gave myself permission to not only not kill myself on the trail (metaphorically) by having to hike the entire 2,650 miles at once, it became incrementally easier to let up on myself and adjust accordingly.

I want this travelblog to be interactive, so please do respond if you're so inclined~

Advertisement



26th July 2012

Seriously? I didn't realize the trail was THAT long.
29th July 2012

length
Dani, the trail is 2,6650 from Manning Park, B.C., to Campo, Ca. Leaving from Cascade Locks, Or on the Columbia, my trip will be over 2,100~

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb