Monsoons and subsequent changes


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Olympia
October 27th 2011
Published: October 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Although I planned on making the last entry my final one prior to departing, the conditions in Thailand currently have compelled me to make serious revisions in the upcoming itinerary. BBC news reports that major flooding in and around Bangkok have forced thousands to flee the capital. While Bangkok itself is not as severly affected by the torrential rains and concomitant flooding, the outlying areas are severely compromised. As such, I just purchased a ticket to fly out of Bangkok into Phnom Penh four hours after arriving into Thailand. I debated the sagacity of spending funds on going to visit Angkor Wat, but upon serious introspection, I would profoundly regret not going, being that geographically close to a place I have wanted to see since I first saw photos twenty yrs ago. So as of today, I will be in Cambodia next Thursday, returning to Bangkok 8 days later, 11/11. Am planning on changing my original flight into Bombay (12/14) and catching the 9:15pm flt that evening. In other words, barring travel-related complications, will be in India in 16 days. The surrealness of this is becoming more manifest with each passing day. I feel like I am being led/compelled/drawn to India by a force larger than me and my (often) low-level chakra intentions.....on a different note, as I'm writing this, it feels a bit narcissistic to be sharing such mental machinations with the public~

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1014.1kb