Change of weather


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Ocean Park
September 29th 2007
Published: September 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lewis & Clark...Lewis & Clark...Lewis & Clark...

...ended their trek right here in Seaside. According to one of the merchants, they turned around and headed right back home because they got sick of the rain!!
It’s raining today, and is supposed to rain for the next five days. It started with the fine misty rain we’ve had here, but tonight it’s flat-out raining. We can hear it coming in sheets, but they’re big drops. Everyone is talking about winter setting in early, and so far I’ve been able to stop myself from telling them they don’t know winter! But that leads me to some other thoughts:

I have had an unsettled feeling for the past several days…that feeling you get when you’ve left something unfinished. It might be because the weather is changing toward fall, which also means it’ll be changing to winter, right?! I think I’m getting the urge to pad my nest and settle in for the winter! If I were at home, I’d be taking out the winter clothes and putting away the summer clothes, but next week we’re headed to California, so that isn’t necessary. I also have the desire to rearrange the motor home…can’t do that either! Bob did point out that I’m moving things around in here, and there’s no point in it~~we don’t need the extra room, and it’s not making things any easier to find! This is
Things to do on the beachThings to do on the beachThings to do on the beach

I'm going to show what's happening at the beach on a cold windy day. Flying kites is a good thought, but the wind had other plans. Ah, but they kept trying!
the first season change we’ve been gone, and we both feel thr same out of place feeling. Bob woke up the other morning and said he felt panicked because he couldn’t remember ordering ice melt! We just really feel out of our circle of comfort. I wonder when things within us will settle down again….I’ll let you know when it happens.

I’ve also been struggling with homesickness. I miss the people a lot, but also the colors of the cottonwood leaves and the ash leaves, and the sounds of them when you walk through them. (Bob won’t play this game with me, because he said he doesn’t miss raking them, or picking all the apples!) I also miss the smell of the sugar beet factory, which has always smelled like home. And the excitement that comes when the beet farmers are in the midst of harvest. Just going through a little blue spell, as my Gramma Riggins would have said!

Ok, I’m done whining, and will go back to reading my novel! Thank you for the kind comments about my blog…I’m glad you’re enjoying reading it as much as I’m enjoying writing it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Swings are always goodSwings are always good
Swings are always good

All ages here. Isn't the sky pretty?
FootballFootball
Football

...of course. Now notice the two in the water???? And this is the generation that's going to be running our nursing homes!!!
Why not?Why not?
Why not?

And then there's young love....
SceneryScenery
Scenery

Just a pretty scene.


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb