3 Weeks.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Mercer Island
December 11th 2007
Published: December 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Superb StarlingSuperb StarlingSuperb Starling

Superb Starling at Mpala Research Center, July 2005.
In almost exactly three weeks' time from the moment I'm starting my first entry (that would be this one) of my first attempt at blogging (again, this would be it), I'll be boarding a plane bound for London, where I'll try to entertain myself for almost 9 hours before hopping on another plane headed for Nairobi, Kenya. There, I'll meet up with my research adviser, Dustin Rubenstein, to drive approximately 250km north to the Mpala Research Center, where I'll be spending the next 6 months studying the aptly named Superb Starling. While various forms of contact with the outside world do exist at Mpala, the fact of the matter is that I will be in the African bush and those modes of communication are not necessarily 100%!r(MISSING)eliable. Thus, when I do have the chance to access the internet, I'm hoping to update all my friends and family (at least, those who give a damn about me) in one fell swoop with this blog. I'm going to do my best to illustrate what life is like in Kenya, yet keep it entertaining so that people will actually read it. Comments are encouraged, mostly so that I know people haven't forgotten about me! I don't really know what's going to come of this blog attempt, but I figure I've got the next three weeks to practice. Wish me luck.





NOTE: all entries previous to this are retrospective - their purpose is for me to reflect on places I've been prior to starting this TravelBlog; this is my first "real-time" entry

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb