Moving to Alaska


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Lakewood
February 24th 2016
Published: February 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Hi,

I am moving to Alaska and I want to keep in touch with friends and family. This blog will be a good way to do that. This is Wednesday the 24th of February, 2016 and I will leave here - in my camper van and two cats along for the ride - on 5 March 2016. I like to think I am prepared but without prayer, all is in vain. Yesterday I purchase the last of the safety items for my trip - tire chains. The Les Schwab manager said my tires were good for chains and then he showed me how to put them on - easy.

My camper van is a 1995 Ford Econoline E350 and it is 17 feet long. It holds 30 gallons of fresh water under the bed. There is a flushing toilet in the rear behind a thick curtain that I installed. There is a microwave oven, a refrigerator/freezer that is run both electric or propane. There is a 32 inch smart tv installed on a long fully bracket that allows the television to move 180 degree in both directions. I have three forms of heat. Propane installed into the wall, electric ceramic heater (small) and a goodwill radiator heater that really puts out a lot lot of heat - it is filled with oil but is electric. It is bulky and huge but I believe in zero degree weather I will use that well. I also have an electric blanket & electric warming blanket should I need it to reduce the electric load on the battery. That reminds me of the $3000 I paid in order to be safe on the 7 day journey. I purchased a brand new expensive deep cycle RV battery and they replaced my alternator. All the other mechanical stuff is safety related and I was assured all would be well. Just in case, I purchase a secondary battery pack that has a few hours of electricity should all else fail... It is also equipped with positive and negative clips in case I awaken to a dead battery.

I purchased two solar panel (Goal Zero) which I can hook together and generate enough power for the cell and iPad. I also have a toaster oven as well as a new wave burner unit that works with electricity. If for some reason I have no electricity at all, I can break out my propane stove and the canister of gas and cook food. I also purchased a instant hot water heater that fits under the sink. Apparently I purchased a cheaper one so that it is not really a faucet hot water line but rather a completely separate hot boiling water spigot next to the faucet for coffee, tea or what not. I plan to use it to make warm enough water to sponge bath or to shower in a warm bucket of water out the back - when the back doors make a "V" that becomes the perfect shower. I have a battery operated water shower pump that one end is in the bucket, the other end is there shower head. Works great. I even purchased a portable bathtub from Japan and when I tested it, worked very well. It is a little bit too big for the van so I'll keep it for later when I camp out this summer.

I went to the Bass Pro outlet and purchased thick hunter's socks, boots, and a gun that shoots pepper spray for bears and attacks. I have 4 canisters for refills. That reminds me of my taser that I keep near my car door in case of parking lot attacks. I can keep that near for small animal attacks or perhaps for moose. It scared a few raccoons when I last went camping.

Other safety precautions I have taken is fully insulating the van. I insulated the windows too, put an extra thermal curtain up front, placed fiberglass stip insulation all around the water tank and filled holes with it too, then covered the entire bed under the mattress with bubblewrap insulation that looks like aluminum foil on a role.

I have AAA road service and they will pick up but could take a day they told me.

I overpacked the van anticipating I'd need just ab out everything I have in my house. I removed a lot the past few days as I did not have room for my clothes. I got a roof cargo bag, some space bags, and put a lot of clothes and uniforms inside there. I also purchased a cargo hitch metal shelf that holds two water resistant plastic boxes. They have my bottled water and other things inside. In the mean time, since this Monday the movers have been here and they have packed the majority of my personal nbelogimgs up and placed it o the movie g container. We have two more days of packing to go. It is difficult for me because I have been here 4 years and this house has a lot of stuff. I do not know where I am going to live so I took a lot of items to the goodwill to downsize. I posted other items on craigslist.

Next week I will be out processing from JBLM and the Hospital and final cleaning of my house getting ready to leave. In preparation for that, I purchased some dried foods like cereal with powdered milk, coffee cup dripper instead of a machine, microwave bowls and such that advertise steaming and quick rice making. I also got a few bowls that pop up and make flat.

At first I bought a large bottle of toilet treatment then realized it was way too much and too heavy. I got these little bottles one for each day of the journey. I got a newer, lighter water hose and threw the heavier one away. All the weight I can reduce the better the gas mileage. Some people say to go with little water in the tank for gas mileage but I think it is worth the weight too carry the full amount in case of emergencies. I am testing the gas mileage this tank as I just found the button on the older vehicles are different than my electric car.

I am putting a cat tree in the van for them to get up to their loft above the driver and passenger seats. They have birds up there and it is enclosed for feeling secure. The vet said baby benadryl (liquid) can help along with some homeopathic anti-anxiety liquid. I got both of them harnesses with a 6 foot leash. Also there are two car dog beds I will install tonight, So, with all that said, I am getting ready for a 7 day trip to Alaska in winter. burr!

Advertisement



25th February 2016

Preparation
Sounds like you've got all be bases covered. Are there plenty of fuel stations along the way? I didn't see any mention of emergency fuel. I know you can take care of yourself, but I'm still going to worry all the time you're on the road. It should be quite an adventure, and I'm sure you'll make the best of it. I'm looking forward to your daily updates.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb